PDA

View Full Version : 3D Theory: Understanding Subpatch & Catmull-Clark

stephenbuck415
02-10-2011, 05:58 PM
Greetings everyone.

I'm working through the training material I have for LW9.6. The other day I completed Dan Ablan's 3D Garage course, and today I have started to work through WordWare's Essential LightWave v9.

In Dan's course, and now on page 61 of the ELW text, I am introduced to Subpatches and Catmull-Clark. I can readily see what both do, but as I am new to CGI, do not understand when I might want to use one rather than the other.

I was wondering if there might be gallery examples that helps me understand, or perhaps something else?

faulknermano
02-10-2011, 06:28 PM
In Dan's course, and now on page 61 of the ELW text, I am introduced to Subpatches and Catmull-Clark. I can readily see what both do, but as I am new to CGI, do not understand when I might want to use one rather than the other.

I believe it's the context in which you use them, and this especially important because you're using LW (not some other app's implementation of CC). I generally do not use CC either way, in Maya nor in LW for varying reasons. First, because I move between multiple applications, CC is not the same across, and some apps, like Mudbox, doesn't really use CC to a degree that's readily usable in production. So despite having advantages, such as ngons, it doesn't translate well in the bigger scheme of things. In LW, CC is also very slow.

In contrast LW subpatches are identical to other smoothing functions across different apps and they all support quads and tris. So consistency across apps is maintained. Subpatches are fast too, and UV textures are solid because it forces you to keep to quads or tris.

JeffrySG
02-10-2011, 06:43 PM
In LW typically you'll want to stick with subpatch because it is quicker and has less issues and problems (with things like UVs). In an ideal world I would just use CC all the time but I usually use sp.