PDA

View Full Version : LW Renderer

50one
02-07-2011, 04:04 AM
Was wondering the other day about this and not sure If anyone notice this(I'm sure most of you did) kinda weird question and hopefully you will understand:D Sooo I'm a 8.5 user and haven't updated yet to 9.6, was mainly using it for web content stuff(I'm a web designer) and it works for me pretty well I would say.

So recently I started to comparing the images from other renderers and started to wandering, why is the images coming from LW look a "bit dirty/blurred" not sure if you know what I mean, usually the High-pass filter trick was helping me but, comparing the images to those done with MR/Vray - yeah I know stand alone renderers...., cost as much as a new house hehe, so just wandering where that "grading" is coming from?

ingo
02-07-2011, 04:13 AM
Well LW is known for a smoother aa, but you can always try mitchell sharp to get a sharper aa.

50one
02-07-2011, 04:20 AM
Well I had a chance to play with the version 10, and played with the F9 a bit, tried the mitchell/Lanczos sharp but get nasty jaggies around the specular hit/where the edge was(Tried one of the scenes from the speed modeling challenges).

dee
02-07-2011, 04:44 AM
Exception did a guide on antialiasing, maybe it helps: http://www.except.nl/lightwave/aa/index.htm

50one
02-07-2011, 05:00 AM
Yeah, seen the except website, but completely forgot bout this. Thanks. I will post the images as soon as I will get to home. Got jaggies when used Perspective camera - AA 17 - Lanczos/Mitchel sharp, but the reconstruction filter was setup to Fixed, maybe that's why, plus tried to wrap my head around the new LWF hehe. Sooo much good stuff in the 9.x/10 version!:D

50one
02-07-2011, 05:02 AM
Oh yeah and stupid question, why is the Digital Confusion not working with Perspective camera in 10?

rhobart
02-07-2011, 09:45 AM