PDA

View Full Version : Simple Expressions?

daz1761
02-06-2011, 04:37 PM
Hello :help:

I am fairly new to lightwave but desperatly need a few expressions in my layout scene for my assignment.

I am going to have an engine with its cam cogs spinning and was wondering what expression to use so they are repeatedly rotating through out my 1 min video.

Also i am trying to sus out parenting my model car to my roller coaster track and was wondering when its done if there was an expression for the car to constantly move around the track.

Many thanks

nickdigital
02-06-2011, 07:00 PM
Also i am trying to sus out parenting my model car to my roller coaster track and was wondering when its done if there was an expression for the car to constantly move around the track.

http://newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76730&highlight=roller+coaster

Or if you have the Modeler curve that made your track you can use that as a path constraint in Layout.

jeric_synergy
02-06-2011, 07:58 PM
Or if you have the Modeler curve that made your track you can use that as a path constraint in Layout.
That's a new one on me: can you elaborate?

Tnx!
++++++++

I am going to have an engine with its cam cogs spinning and was wondering what expression to use so they are repeatedly rotating through out my 1 min video.
If all they are doing is rotating, you don't need expressions, especially if they don't have changing speed or relationships between each other (i.e. just 'window dressing').

Set up a rotational speed you like, say over 30 frames, and in the GRAPH EDITOR, set the POST BEHAVIOR setting for that channel to LINEAR. In the graph you'll see the channel curve describe a straight line for the selected channel. For a rotation channel that means a constant rotational speed, forever.

Silkrooster
02-06-2011, 10:51 PM
Sounds like the expression is a requirement from his teacher.

jeric_synergy
02-06-2011, 11:53 PM
Oh, indeed: we should just send page #'s then. (They're hard enough to find!)