PDA

View Full Version : Constrain Orbit in Modeler



Picajol
02-04-2011, 11:36 AM
Hi!
How can I constrain orbit in modeler around just Y axis using a shorcut key?
When using the orbit icon, it moves in a way that I want, but when using alt or crtl key with mouse button, view gets "tilted".
Thanx guys :-)

prometheus
02-04-2011, 12:10 PM
I donīt think you can, the best controll to orbit is probably the orbit icon.
You could constrain that with also using ctrl key, but it will not really lock the other axis, more letting you orbit in chunky steps.

Michael

Picajol
02-05-2011, 12:49 AM
:-(
Thanx anyway Michael.

prometheus
02-05-2011, 03:31 AM
there is a plugin called lightkeys under development, wich brings another set of controll to shortkeys, for example maya navigation.

It is only for layout yet but Itīs planned for modeler as well, and itīs a free plugin.

You might feel more comfortable with that once released.

Michael

probiner
02-05-2011, 06:16 AM
To reset the Y axis, Ctrl+Click the Rotation button in the viewport. It will use stepped rotations but also reset the Y axis.

Not a workflow solution, but might come handy sometimes when the viewport goes crazy.

Cheers

prometheus
02-05-2011, 06:20 AM
Yeah thatīs what I said, (sort of):)




I donīt think you can, the best controll to orbit is probably the orbit icon.
You could constrain that with also using ctrl key, but it will not really lock the other axis, more letting you orbit in chunky steps.

Michael