PDA

View Full Version : : help: Import/modeling Question

bob221b1
02-03-2011, 04:06 PM
All,

PLEASE HELP. *I am about to purchase Lightwave 10, I am pretty savvy with Macs and Final Cut Pro, but now want to*
try to add animation to my tool bag to help me through a new project:

I have a model of a space ship; it is about 14" long & made of resin.*
I want to have it sit off in the distance in my 'sequence/film', and fly to it with another model (a shuttle-type craft). *I have zero experience with modeling software, but am a quick learner. *

1) Can I take a picture with a good DSLR, and somehow have Lightwave create/tweak the photo to render it as 3D? *Then, as if key framing with FCP, make another 3D 'shuttle', repeating the process and slowly creep towards this ship in the distance?

2) How does one take a 'real life' object, such as described, or even as simple as a coffee table, or car, and 'import' it into LW10 for such a project?

3) Are there any classes one can physically go to in the Seattle area for LW10 tutoring?

4) Finally, I just signed up for the Newtek board yesterday. *If this is not the correct place to post this request for assistance, can someone tell me what the best board here for that is?

Thank you for your time!

~Bob
Seattle, WA*

Sent via iPAD.

wrench
02-03-2011, 04:41 PM
Welcome Bob,

To answer 4 first, this is a good place for the question. :)

1. You can't make your flat picture of the spaceship three dimensional, but you can fake it by using something called front projection mapping to use with simple geometry that is "draped" with your picture so that when your shuttle flies "over" the space ship it will put a shadow down.

2. You can actually get your object scanned into a true digital 3D model if you'd like, but it won't be free to do. Most people take photo reference and recreate the model inside LightWave - I would warrant that almost all the fancy sportscar models you see renders of are *not* real. ;)