PDA

View Full Version : Perspective Viewport Backdrops?

DoGMaN X
01-22-2011, 11:12 AM
Hello everyone,

I am trying to use a real life photograph as a backdrop reference, I can attach it to orthographic viewports but not perspective viewport.

My workaround at the moment is to map the image as a texture to an object, and scale to fit the perspective view. The problem with this is once I lose focus on this layer and go to another one, I lose the view of the texture as the current layer becomes a reference layer.

I could keep both layers enabled, but I'd rather not as I would want to make sure the reference picture is untouched.

Is there a better workaround for this?

I am a beginner so may have missed an obvious feature.

The picture shows my current method.

nickdigital
01-22-2011, 11:16 AM
You can't lock layers like other programs. Modeling with reference planes in an orthographic view is best.

DoGMaN X
01-22-2011, 11:36 AM
Because of the nature of my 'perspective' reference picture, I want to assign it as a backdrop on a perspective viewport so I could fit and build my model perfectly to it.

The picture I have attached is fine, but poses problems such as the view must be stationary until the end of the modelling process, and the layer must be on the foreground at all times to see the texture, and I could accidently interfere with the reference object because of this.

I dont think I have any luck using an orthographic viewport to work from this picture as a reference, because the picture just wouldn't match my model as I want it to. Is there anything else I could try in perspective viewports?

nickdigital
01-22-2011, 01:19 PM
What about front project mapping the image onto geometry?

DoGMaN X
01-22-2011, 05:29 PM
What about front project mapping the image onto geometry?

'Project Mapping' sounds new to me, I will have to look it up.

JeffrySG
01-22-2011, 07:31 PM