PDA

View Full Version : Video files as texture maps



Dreamcube017
01-20-2011, 12:19 PM
Hi everyone.

I'm trying to get a video file as a texture map, but I'm running into some problems.

So I guess LW 9.6 can only take .mov files? Ok, well I tried converting a video to that and it still wouldn't work.

What are the parameters that have to be met in order for a mov file to be used?

Also, does anyone know of a free converter to turn other vieos into .mov fiels because I don't know if the one I have works. (I'm using SUPER(C) ).

Thanks.

nickdigital
01-20-2011, 12:25 PM
.avi files should work but I would suggest turning the file into an image sequence instead.

JonW
01-20-2011, 12:46 PM
Same problem here. Went with image sequence instead.

Dreamcube017
01-20-2011, 12:53 PM
Cool thanks.

Is there a way to make an animation sequence play faster or slower or do I have to do that in another application? thanks.

nickdigital
01-20-2011, 12:55 PM
You could try changing the framerate of the image sequence. I'm guessing that would work though I've never tried it.

Dreamcube017
01-20-2011, 01:55 PM
Cool. Thanks. GOt it working.

prometheus
01-21-2011, 08:24 AM
I dont believe quicktime mov works with 64 bit lightwave if thatīs what you have.

Michael

wibly wobly
01-21-2011, 09:03 AM
I dont believe quicktime mov works with 64 bit lightwave if thatīs what you have.

Michael

I was just going to say this.

32 bit QT work fine from my exp. Hit 64 bit and buh bye. Go image stack.

prometheus
01-21-2011, 09:09 AM
I was just going to say this.

32 bit QT work fine from my exp. Hit 64 bit and buh bye. Go image stack.

Thatīs on the quicktime development team to fix, they currently have no support for 64 bit system software, so not to blame lightwave.
so codecs in viper or within animations wonīt work, unless having both 32 bit and 64 bit installed to secure to be able to do what you want.

Michael

Dreamcube017
01-21-2011, 09:10 AM
I'm not using the 64 bit vesion of LW though. I got the avi and photo sequence to work fine though. Thanks.

wibly wobly
01-21-2011, 10:09 AM
Thatīs on the quicktime development team to fix

I had heard that before but, never looked into it on Apples side to confirm it. Bit odd that they're taking so long to implement a 64 bit version. With any luck, they'll offer ProRes encoding that you can buy for Windows with it.