PDA

View Full Version : Tron Light-Cycle trail effect. How do I do it?

johnvonahlen
09-28-2003, 05:46 AM
Hello, my names's John Von Ahlen, from Melbourne, Australia.

I'm hoping someone can help me out.

I am trying to get the effect of the tron light-cycles. Specifially the solid object trail left behind by the light-cycles.

My project uses arrows, and these need to leave a solid end trail as they move. I have tried lazy-points and trail plug-ins, but they don't give me the req'd look.

I am relatively new to LW, using V7, so if anyone out there can help me out, it would be appreciated.

[email protected]

Karmacop
09-28-2003, 06:00 AM
I'd model the trail and then use clip maps to hide what's not meant to be shown.

johnvonahlen
09-28-2003, 06:14 AM
i've got a trail happening (i created a spline in mod) but how do i use a clip map?
I got the model to follow the path of the spline, but the next step has me stumped...

like i said, i'm a bit of a newbie

Mylenium
09-28-2003, 08:02 AM
Take a look at the interview with Lightwolf over at NewTek Europe and download the files with the arrow from the Tour de France. This technique is ideal for such requirements and does not need any convoluted morphing or clip maps.

Mylenium

johnvonahlen
09-28-2003, 08:31 AM
thanks mylenium,

but i tried to find the interview and the only link was broken..
http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/community/lightwave/wolf/1.html

do you have the files or know an alternate site? tried google too..

Mylenium
09-28-2003, 12:06 PM
That's bad then ;-(. Unfortunately I haven't got the files handy. I will look at work if I have a backup of them.

Mylenium

BeeVee
09-28-2003, 01:17 PM