PDA

View Full Version : Creativity help

SonicN2O
01-01-2011, 07:46 PM
I'm looking at the things that other people have made on LightWave (and CG software in general, for that matter.) Purticularly spaceships, and My big question has always been, how do people make such amazing and original designs, and how are people able to but such minute detail on things without working on the same project for years? Take the B5 station model for example. How did that person, who's name escapes me at the moment, be able to build a CG space station with a poly count from here to Alpha Centauri in only 5 weeks? It's amazing! is there a shortcut? are there methods? Am I just being naieve because I'm new to lightwave? This is the question that got me into CG.

UltraViolet
01-01-2011, 11:31 PM
Lots of doodling is what I do. Often (well, not in the very beginning) from something simple complexity arises.

I almost never duplicate someone else's work. If I'm inspired by something I like to create my own variations which leads to even more variations and hopefully to something completely different ...

I always have pencil and paper in my car, so if I have an idea (you never know), I can immediately do a quick sketch ... no matter how basic it is it can help a lot later.

Did I mention I do a lots of doodling (with appropriate music in the background), helps me relax too :hey:

P.S.

Here is something I modeled after watching Mission to Mars movie and being loosely inspired by the ship itself:

http://www.kemalandsheila.com/variousimages2/Odyssey.jpg

I have DVD so reference images were no problem, I could of model it more
accurately, but I did not want to, I just wanted to make something similar :D

Dexter2999
01-01-2011, 11:36 PM
Shortcut? Greebles and Nurnies.
Also, SYMMETRY. Not the mode, the concept. When you think about it, you only have to model HALF a spaceship! Then you can add details to each side.

nickdigital
01-01-2011, 11:54 PM