PDA

View Full Version : radical interface idea?



aSkeptic
12-27-2010, 07:14 PM
Ok theres about a quadzillion buttons in lightwave and it can take a long time to find where your command is so why not have something similar to google's autocomplete where you would have a field to search for a command or function

you could type in

mer

and it would automatically spit out "merge polygons" among other things. and right then and there you could stick on a hot key for that command.

With this system you could eventually do away with the menus and buttons. Though it is still good to have those so you can browse lightwave's capabilities.

What do you guys/gals think?

Sensei
12-28-2010, 12:08 PM
I think adding plugins to application can be done by drag'n'drop file .p or .plugin on Mac between explorer and LightWave v10/Core window. Application should automatically check that file is object/scene/image/animation/plugin, and adopt. With plugin, it would automatically add plugins, and put all found in file as buttons.

meatycheesyboy
12-28-2010, 01:53 PM
I suggested something similar a few years ago. Shame that something hasn't been implemented to help with the clutter of the interface in the time since then.

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=82389

probiner
12-28-2010, 02:29 PM
Well you want something like After Effects and blender right?
Matt did something like that for plugins only (wich is already alot). It doesn't auto complete, but once you hit enter it resolves and filters with the keywords you typed.
It saves lots of clicks and scrolling =)

It's not as integrated and as fast like what you ask, but it can ease things up
http://www.pixsim.co.uk/lightwave_lscripts.html
Run Modeler Plugin
and
Run Layout Plugin.

Cheers

aSkeptic
12-28-2010, 05:51 PM
I suggested something similar a few years ago. Shame that something hasn't been implemented to help with the clutter of the interface in the time since then.

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=82389

Yes exactly what I was thinking!

Lightwolf
12-28-2010, 06:33 PM
Well, nowadays it should go a lot further than just searching for tools imho (afaik Blender does that, Houdini as well).
Search for anything that is named... tools, scripts,, surfaces, assets.

And Sensei certainly is right, nowadays one access point to load anything should be sufficient (as opposed to multiple load options).
The only exception would be when an item could be loaded with multiple uses (thinking of Core here, i.e. referencing a scene into the current one vs. loading a new one).

Cheers,
Mike

Sensei
12-28-2010, 06:43 PM
I have another idea - replacing object when other object is dropped on it (from OS file explorer) (just mesh, bones, motion etc will remain), replace texture when image is dropped on some surface (if multiple channels are set - asking which one to replace)..

I have feature request
https://secure.newtek.com/FogBugz/default.asp?36050_n9g38ogs
Just making this file dropping plugin class should be sufficient for me to make such replacer for everything..
To check out what object/surface to replace, I can reuse TrueArt's SurfacePicker tool already existing source code.

vncnt
01-05-2011, 09:17 AM
Speech recognition to select an object or a selection set.

That would speed things up.