PDA

View Full Version : Blowing stuff up



SonicN2O
12-23-2010, 01:29 PM
I've been experimenting with blowing my spaceships up. Plenty of geometry to work with, but I can only use one layer, which really restricts my ability to make changes and improve the model. So, what's the " industry standard" for blowing up something, wether it be a spaceship, cruiser or a tank? Is there really any easy way to do this? Is any process I use excruciating and Painful? Why am I asking so many questions? Pls help!

skywalker113
12-25-2010, 10:39 AM
Seperate your model in modeler with layers. Parent them all to one main layer. Then use Hardfx and collision in layout to blow them up.

I think the standerd way in most 3d programs is to use collisions and dynamics to make explosions with lots of debree. Theres no way someone can hand animate thousands of little peices flying everywhere! But sometimes after the simulation is complete. Someone will refine the animation by hand.

snsmoore
12-27-2010, 02:37 PM
Check out the Kurv Studio's live webinar trainings that Sean Jackson is giving. The 1st (basic) class earlier this month was great and I learned a ton. It basically covered creating a spaceship explosion and ripping the ship apart...all in Lightwave. There is a 2nd class in mid-January, which builds on the 1st class and improves the effect.

(not sure if they will be making the training for the 1st class available after the fact....)

Some more info here (http://www.cgfocus.com/news/story/4503)

-shawn

OnlineRender
12-27-2010, 03:09 PM
is cgfocus the new SQ? , coding / layout look exact same except the css is and code is a layout wonky !

OnlineRender
12-27-2010, 03:26 PM
edit I already know the answer , lets bring the coders out ::::::

your wibiya bar is all wrong , it multiplies several times , you need to drop it to the footer content , I see what/why you have done by wrapping it : but its not worked correctly ...

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/3673/sqfucked.jpg

SonicN2O
12-31-2010, 07:21 PM
how do you set multiple particle emitters' "start frame" input field at once?

Mr Rid
01-01-2011, 04:11 AM
Well, for the third time... after saving PFX motions, set the playback mode to 'Key', select emitters and make a keyframe. The PFX motions will all start on that keyframe.

SonicN2O
01-01-2011, 04:39 PM
sorry I keep forgetting.

SonicN2O
02-13-2011, 06:31 PM
What are fluids? (for the fireball)

Mr Rid
02-14-2011, 03:04 AM
Fluid dynamics- http://www.jawset.com/gallery_tfd.php

prometheus
02-14-2011, 10:58 AM
What are fluids? (for the fireball)

Did you miss playing with turbulence?..give it a goo..the demo is free to test..

here´s a small sample..
http://vimeo.com/19305733

and here´s where you download the demo community edition..
http://www.jawset.com/downloads.php

pick the right one, there are 4 different installers for lightwave depending on if you use Mac or windows and if you use LW 9 or 10.

The first thing is to follow the installation notes ..the rest is easy, just
create a simple ball around 50 cm, select it and under the turbulence tab make emitter, under the same tab you add a fluid container wich needs to be a lot bigger since that is the area your fluid must simulate in, you can size the fluid container with the size tool.

By default the fluid resolution is something like 20 mm, I would suggest rising that to 60 for a little faster preview in the beginning, make sure you set the viewport display to density or something else except none.
Run the simulation..open viper to see how it looks.

Michael