PDA

View Full Version : Setting up new video card



ianay
12-22-2010, 12:01 PM
I just got a gtx 480 and its installed fine ,up and running,
I got it in order to get faster render times...
Its installed,running and my render times havent got any quicker!
I have an AMD triple core 2.1 ghz processor
Is there an option im missing on lightwave to render via hardware?
Or is it all automatic?
If not, is there an external renderer that will render quicker with a better video card?

This is doing my head in as ive got this card, bumped up to 64 bit and there seems to be no obvious advantage (not with render times anyway)

thanks for any help

nickdigital
12-22-2010, 12:06 PM
I've never heard of a video card accelerating render times. Generating previews yes, but not render times.

CPU speed and RAM have more impact on render times.

OnlineRender
12-22-2010, 01:06 PM
Ram ftw .

erikals
12-22-2010, 03:42 PM
like neverko says,
it will only speed up GPU based renders, such as Octane,
for Ligtwave a fast CPU is needed to speed things up, a GPU won't help here.

(i've read way back that NT is looking into GPU support for the future, but that's for the future...)
or maybe it will be a mix, like OpenCL, which uses both CPU and GPU to make renders even faster...

ianay
12-23-2010, 05:45 AM
Thanks guys..
Looks like its back to the drawing board..

cresshead
12-23-2010, 06:30 AM
all isn't lost..you have a very nice graphics card to use...yup it won't speed up render times for 3d renderers like lightwave, fprime, modo, 3dsmax, maya, cinema4d etc...FYI render farm based computers have basic on board graphics at best just so you can monitor the computer. All the grunt work is handled by the CPU and the ram to hold the scene in memory.

borkus
12-23-2010, 06:35 PM
At least you know now that you can play all the best games on full settings!!!