PDA

View Full Version : i hope i'm in the right place...



stylus10
12-21-2010, 12:03 PM
I have a scene in LW 9.6 and mysteriously all my open GL textures have disappeared. Would someone tell me where the switch i hit by accident might be?

thank you,
stylus10

skywalker113
12-21-2010, 12:49 PM
At the upper left corner of the screen theres a drop down menu for viewing modes. Switch it to textured shaded solid.

Traveler
12-21-2010, 12:52 PM
Could be a number of reasons but if it's a one button answer I'd go for the button at the top, next where you can cycle between views. If you switch to 'Textured Shaded solid' your objects should be textured again.

edit: I'm too slow :)

stylus10
12-21-2010, 12:59 PM
thank you very much, but i tried that. i have imported an object from another scene and it is fine. i have reloaded the 9.6 update and re installed it, but no dice. i have reloaded textures, assigned other textures for grins. nothing.

so what i have now is one gl textured object over three that wont go. render is fine. hummmmm?

nickdigital
12-21-2010, 01:01 PM
Did you change the display mode of the object in the Scene Editor?

stylus10
12-21-2010, 01:15 PM
excellent suggestion. i was mucking around in there yesterday. so i checked, but no, that's not it. what i did learn from running down your excellent suggestion is that (in order of the drop down box) shaded solid is the last thing that works. textured solid and textured solid wire frame are now all just shaded solid. in other words textured solid wire frame does NOT show wire frame. just a shaded solid.

damn strange.

Dexter2999
12-21-2010, 01:31 PM
can you post the scene and objects (preferably packaged)?

stylus10
12-21-2010, 01:35 PM
(edit) i have packaged the scene but where would be a good place to post it?

thanks.

nickdigital
12-21-2010, 01:37 PM
Load your scene up and go to the Utilities>Additional pull down. You should find an entry for Package Scene. That'll bundle everything up so you can post your assets without anything missing.

What sort of graphics card are you using? Are the drivers up to date?

If everything was working before it sounds like something is just not checked or something. Nothing catastrophic.

stylus10
12-21-2010, 01:51 PM
i am all packaged up, but i cant figure out how to attach the file with the attachment abilities of this message board. is there some place or other way that you can recommend?

Dexter2999
12-21-2010, 01:53 PM
Click "Go Advanced" then you will see the Paper clip icon for attachments.
Click that and you will get an upload option box.

To others reading this thread...
Wasn't there a thread with a guy with a textured tunnel that wasn't showing up right and it had something to do with the SGS(?) Shader option (or whatever it is)?

stylus10
12-21-2010, 02:25 PM
here ya go.

i sure appreciate you guyzez help here. i have continued working, but i likes my purdy textures.

Traveler
12-21-2010, 02:40 PM
Hmmm,... seems there's nothing wrong with your scene. All textures load fine on my machine and all are visible in Layout.
Could you post your machine specs?

stylus10
12-21-2010, 03:01 PM
my machine is brand new. allowing for some amd parts and such it is top flight. not to mention previously working just fine....

is there a memory limit switch for open gl that i may have inadvertently flipped?

Dexter2999
12-21-2010, 03:14 PM
Could it be a graphics card issue? Are you using an NVidia graphics card or ATI?

stylus10
12-21-2010, 03:18 PM
1

stylus10
12-21-2010, 03:27 PM
the card is a new GTX 470, Nividia. device manager reports an up to date driver.... ?

thanks

(edit) i found it. someone (hummm) had chosen multitexture shaders in open gl in preferences. GLSL are the correct choice.

thank you again for all you expert help. i will surely be back.