PDA

View Full Version : Octane Render Competition



geo_n
12-16-2010, 06:58 AM
http://www.refractivesoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=4701

Since we have a lw octane plugin, would be cool to see some top lw artist join. This will be tough since its an open competiton with many top users from other software packages. :D

gristle
12-16-2010, 01:48 PM
How's the exporter now? Tried it a while back on a average scene, but the export process to Octane was painfully slow.

geo_n
12-16-2010, 06:06 PM
Was it this slow?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9LISEglVNA
Because now I tried that scene and its super fast. walfridson did a good job with the recent version. :thumbsup:

The prizes are great wish it wasn't the holidays.

gristle
12-16-2010, 06:12 PM
Ah no, that looks quick in comparison. It was the 1st or 2nd cut of the plugin, think it was using LWs obj exporter.

Good luck with the contest, jacket would be good with a core t shirt

erikals
12-16-2010, 11:44 PM
no time, but hope other wavers join :]

Mitja
12-17-2010, 02:29 AM
Where's the exporter? I can't find it... I know it should be in the forums somewhere, but.. where?

erikals
12-17-2010, 04:33 AM
buy the Octane plugin, this will make you able to log in and access this page...
http://www.refractivesoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=3072

(Board index Licensed Customer Forums Plugin Discussion/Support Lightwave 3D)

tyrot
12-19-2010, 12:18 AM
hey erikals

i am planing to purchase octane and a GPU for it. I have seen a decent card with 2 GB DDR5 Ram..ZOTAC 2GB 460 GTX.. More Ram is better?

I wanted to buy a card for Premiere Pro Cs5 ( i know it is irrelevant but Mercury Engine in that program is just beyond words) now i have seen Octane i am more turned on..

So my question is simple, (it will take some time for me to read another forum)... How do you export animations to Octane from LW? ...Walf's plugin also export animations? Is there big problems with overall export?

BTW.. I think im one of the only users that watched all your YouTube tutorials. I just personally thank you... what an amazing effort...

Best

erikals
12-21-2010, 09:48 AM
hi, sorry, just came back :]

...and running out in 3min again... hehe... :]

fast answer,
more ram is better to load poly-heavy scenes. high poly scenes are not GPU friendly (a current limitation)

i see you found this thread :]
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1091261#post1091261

hehe, wow, never thought anyone would watch all of them, hehe, cool :]
thanks tyrot,
busy now but might upload more later on... :]

(the faster GPU the better, but i bought a used 470, and it's supposedly quite nice,
the next GPU upgrade will be in about 2 years i guess...)

silviotoledo
04-13-2011, 09:35 AM
Please help me doing this comparison test:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1131650#post1131650