PDA

View Full Version : What file formats supports LW v9.6?

ForenDaddy
12-16-2010, 03:42 AM
hi, i am quite new to lightwave.
i have to do a project at my school with lw 9.6.

we try to mix real movie scenes with some lw models.

everything we have recorded is an avchd file (*.mts).
lw doesn't support this file when i try to load it into the layouter via image editor.

so how do i get my videos into lw?

OnlineRender
12-16-2010, 04:00 AM
I would use mentalfish LW-Aftereffects script when blending 3D with live action , either that or some tracking software , but ....

when importing video into the background , try another format , avi "sucks " pngsequence " I think works fine and the best " , dont honestly know not imported video footage into LW for a while now .

but I gather it works on the same concept of importing animated textures.

ForenDaddy
12-16-2010, 05:31 AM
i want to interact two 3d figures with a real person.
as i understood the tutorial video for mentalfish, it can only move the whole object. not only like arms or legs of the 3d object.
so i don't think i can achieve what a want with this.
the timing is important.

so i have to stick with converting my video files.

the png sequence works fine. just had to figure out to select sequence.

what is better a png sequence or a video file in mov or so?
by the way what formats supports lightwave anyway?
is there list anywhere? i don't have the user manual right now.

Greenlaw
12-16-2010, 09:43 AM
Hi,

For Lightwave background previews, I always convert movies to a lower quality .jpg (maybe 60% or so) because this will load very quickly and allow you to scrub in realtime. For actual compositing, obviously I'd want a higher quality format like .exr and I would also do the compositing in an actual compositing program like Fusion (what I use,) or After Effects (another popular choice.)