PDA

View Full Version : Non-Latin Characters as Font Items?

Walkyrje
12-09-2010, 11:48 AM
I apologize if this issue has been brought up before; I didn't see a search function anywhere.

I'm using LightWave 9.6 on a Macintosh G5 running OS 10.5.8.

I have Asian fonts installed, and I wanted to put some Hiragana on a model I'm making. But when I chose the font, and tried to paste the kana, LightWave didn't seem to want to accept non-Latin characters.

Am I doing something wrong, or is there a work-around for this?

Thank you for your time.

Kuzey
12-10-2010, 06:18 AM
I have no experience with Asian fonts, but one way to do it, is to export the text from illustrator or the like...as either .ai or .eps formats and import that into modeler.

Kuzey

Dexter2999
12-10-2010, 11:20 AM
I just pick the Hiragana/Katakana from the font list and it works fine. I think your problem is in the COPY/PASTE part of the equation.
The hiragana/katakana characters all have western keyboard keystrokes...and they don't match up. If you switch to the Japanese font you need to know where the characters are mapped or you are in for a lot of work (like I was because I didn't know how Japanese keyboards are laid out.)
So when you paste the text into LW (I'm guessing you are pasting text into the box in the Numeric panel for text) the characters revert to whatever the first font in your font folder is. You have to select the Japanese font to switch it back again.

I'm attaching a picture. The top text entry is the word "text" in the default font on my system, the first file in the font folder, @Batang400. The lower entry is still the letters t-e-x-t, but with PH Hiragana selected. You can see that "i" is mapped to the "t" key. "Ku" is mapped to the "e" key, and "chi" is mapped to the "x" key.

Or you do as was previously mentioned and type the text in another program that will save out as EPS and bring in curve information (not text information per se.)