PDA

View Full Version : Montecarlo Radiosity Flic. Need help here!



silviotoledo
12-09-2010, 05:11 AM
Why does it flic?

with cache ( each 10 frames calculation ) it flics less.

3DGFXStudios
12-09-2010, 05:22 AM
Use more rays and lower the min and max pixel spacing for a beginning. And there's a area light sticking in the wall. Do you need the transparency and the occlusion in the GI settings?

3DGFXStudios
12-09-2010, 05:39 AM
Here's a render test. You can view the settings in the image. Render time was 1,7 sec per frame. Also your wall isn't entirely flat, that might explain the dirty edge

silviotoledo
12-09-2010, 05:53 AM
I did a test with 1000 rays per evaluation and minimal space between 1 to 10 pixels and it still flics.

The rendering time increased a lot.

silviotoledo
12-09-2010, 05:55 AM
Your test is nice! I will try your settings soon! Thanks a lot!

But I nottice you use cache anyway!

3DGFXStudios
12-09-2010, 06:02 AM
Just one little bonus tip. Don't turn every thing on in the render globals. If you don't need it don't turn it on. For example the AO. That slows down the render and you don't need it because you're using MC radiosity. Also it's wise to fake the radiosity transparency where it's possible because the transparency slows down the GI a lot.