PDA

View Full Version : Best components for a multi-app pipeline

meatycheesyboy
12-06-2010, 12:08 PM
I'm thinking of augmenting LW with another app and was wondering, in your opinions, in this era of increased specialization, what 3D apps fill which holes the best?

I know this question has been asked many times in the past and I have some preconceived notions about what's good at what but I want to see if anything has radically changed.

I'm primarily a hobbyist so my budget isn't huge but don't worry too much about cost at this point. I'll figure all that out once I sort through the responses.

For reference, I already own LW, Zbrush, and UV Layout so UVs and sculpting are low priority as I already have very capable programs.

For example, what apps are best at:

Modeling?
Sculpting?
UVs?
Retopology?
Rendering?
Texturing/Painting?
Compositor Integration?
Motion Graphics?
Effects?
Character Animation?
Hard Body Dynamics?
Soft Body Dynamics?
Fluids?

Feel free to think outside the "main" apps as well. If you think Blender is the best at something, say it. Messiah, say it. TopoGun, say it.

Dexter2999
12-06-2010, 03:10 PM
LW, ZBrush, and UV Layout...

To me that covers you on the first four.
Rendering- LW has a good renderer already. I never needed anything better personally so I never looked into other things. I have skimmed through some of the Kray stuff and it looks great but I guess it comes down to what you need.
Texturing/Painting- on a budget, I'd stick with Photoshop
Compositor- After Effects is a good compositor. Flexible to do general compositing and motion effects. It's a fraction of what the high end app's are going to run. Unless you get them on a special.
Motion Effects- see above
Effects- After Effects, Houdini
Character Animation-Messiah, Meastro
No clue-
No clue-
Fluids-not on a budget supposed to be coming with CORE from what I read

meatycheesyboy
12-06-2010, 03:59 PM