PDA

View Full Version : bones and bends

neilp
11-23-2010, 02:01 PM
:help::help::help:Hi

I have created a very simple sub patched 'credit card' that I have added some bones to enable me to 'bend' the card in an animation. I have added a simple weight map and assigned it to the bone i want to move however the bones do not deform the geometry when i rotate the bone in the scene. Im new to this kind of animation - is there something simple Im missing here??

Neil

nickdigital
11-23-2010, 02:19 PM
Are the bones rested and activated? Hit the "r" key when you have a bone selected.

The other alternative would be to use the Deform modifier Bend. You only need nulls to set that up.

neilp
11-23-2010, 02:44 PM
Thanks Nick

The bones are all active and rested, they havent been reset to zero them in though.

Im trying to use bones on something simple to familiarise myself with this kind of setup.

nickdigital
11-23-2010, 02:45 PM
Can you post the lws and lwo file?

Is the bone strength at 0%?

neilp
11-23-2010, 02:54 PM
Nick

attached are the scene and object files - im sure bones are set to 100%

Thanks for your help Nick

RebelHill
11-23-2010, 03:05 PM
bones should be children of the object they're supposed to affect, or the object needs its bones properties set to "use bones from" whichever object the bones are children of.

hunter
11-23-2010, 03:12 PM
Yep, It looks like you created skelegons in modeler. Select your card object go into bones mode and properties and select use bones from card 1: layer 2.

neilp
11-23-2010, 03:45 PM
Thanks guys - Ive tried both of these options above and the bones still do not bend or deform the geometry!!! any chance of updating my scene file and or object so I can download and work out what has been done to make it happen? although some clues would be cool!

Thanks guys

hunter
11-23-2010, 04:29 PM