PDA

View Full Version : Double box creation

Ithyl
11-22-2010, 06:03 PM
I'm new to using the LiveSet Constructor; I was hoping to use it to create a simple PIP LiveSet. My question: is it possible to use LiveSet Constructor to create a double box LiveSet? If so, can anyone provide a primer on how to do this?

SBowie
11-22-2010, 07:17 PM
The LiveSet Constructor is intended to create sets that support just a single video input, sorry.

Ithyl
11-22-2010, 07:32 PM
Thanks for the quick response. Do you know of any other options for creating a simple picture-in-picture effect (as opposed to the double box LiveSets included with Studio)?

billmi
11-23-2010, 07:14 AM
The LiveSet plugin for LightWave can build LiveSets with up to 2 inputs.

The LiveSet plugin for Aura can build LiveSets with up to 4 inputs and is really better suited for picture in picture type LiveSets.

SBowie
11-23-2010, 07:33 AM
First let's categorize the two sorts of options you have for a PiP:

1) LiveSet
2) Other

Let's deal with #2 first.

Depending on the need, you might be able to get away using keying to provide the PiP source. This has limited usefulness on an SD model TriCaster, because you can't freely position the source, nor scale it (as you can on a TriCaster TCXD).

You would need to supply the source 'pre-formatted' in some manner. This might work if, for example, it was a Skype video screen from another networked computer. You could display the Skype Window on a suitably coloured Windows desktop, position it where you want it, send it to TriCaster as an iVGA source, key out the desktop, select Ext as the Program row video source, and select the background video source on the FX row. Alternatively, you could skip keying altogether, and just use the keyer's Garbage Matte to reveal the FX source.

You might take a similar approach using one of Tricaster's video inputs, instead.

Otherwise, we're back to #1.