PDA

View Full Version : Moving an item at a constant speed



erikals
11-09-2010, 07:58 PM
time to fix this....

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=90657

meshpig
11-10-2010, 12:56 AM
As in one curve for the direction and one for the speed? I just did a test in modeler 10 and can you believe the maximum number of points in a spline is only 256? It used to be much higher though that sounds suspiciously like it's not done yet because you'd think if it were 1004 in 32 bit it would be more in 64?

Greenlaw
11-10-2010, 12:59 AM
I use one of the Polk plugins from Worley Labs for this. I think it's called SpeedLink? Whichever one it is, at work we use it to drive cars and anything that needs to move along a complicated windy path but needs a separate speed control (contant or envelopeable.) (To monitor the speed use Lightwave's Speedometer to make sure it's credible.)

Anyway, yeah, this sort of thing should be built in already. Maya's had it for as long as I can remember.

raw-m
11-10-2010, 03:53 AM
I would love to see an elegant solution to this! In a couple of instances I've had to do my motions in After Effects using "Rove across time" to get a smooth motion and then bought into LW. Not great.

erikals
11-10-2010, 06:04 AM
related thread,
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1077199#post1077199

Greenlaw, did you mean Worley Speedlimit?
http://www.worley.com/E/Products/polk/speedlimit.html

 

erikals
11-10-2010, 03:49 PM
Worley Speedlimit doesn't work good for this afaik, not for the XYZ channels, as the plugin deforms the original path...

Sensei
11-13-2010, 03:14 PM
Did you try EasySpline's Spline Density tool? http://www.easyspline.com