PDA

View Full Version : A couple of LightWave 10 questions...

Tracker
11-04-2010, 12:33 PM
I apologize ahead of time, but I have a few newbie questions concerning Lightwave 10.

First, I'm a hobbyist with not a lot of funds. I've downloaded the trial software of various 3d packages.

Blender is free, and it maybe powerful, but I just couldn't get past the interface. Besides Blender, the inexpensive or free software that I looked at didn't seem capable enough.

I may be wrong, but it seemed from the UI's and tutorials that some of the high-end 3d packages were more geared to character creation and animation...while others were more generalized. Autodesk seems like GM with a lot of brand overlap 3ds, Maya, and XSI...plus...it's so expensive!

I liked the Lightwave interface the best of all, so I'll probably go with the $895 new package for Lightwave directly from NewTek.

Two quick questions:
-First, I know I'll get the update to Version 10 when it becomes available.
But what about point upgrades(10.2, 10.3, 10.4)?
Will they be free for me also?

-Secondly, since there is a USB dongle involved, I would assume I could load duplicate copies of the software on both my desktop and laptop with no licensing issues? After all, I assume you need the dongle constantly seated in the USB port for the software to run, which insures only a single copy is running at any point in time.

I have no problem with dongles, I fact, I prefer them. But only if it allows me the convenience of loading my software onto all my machines. What I hate is installing software that communicates back to the manufacture's mothership and records all sorts of nonsense that in essence ties it to a specific box. Then transferring your license due to hard drive crashes, motherboard upgrades, or moving to new computers becomes a tech support pissing contest.