PDA

View Full Version : Render Times Progressively Increase



JustForFun
11-04-2010, 08:47 AM
I have a small scene with a one charactor with minimal rigging and minimal movement. Every frame that renders is longer than the previous frame. Within the span of 5 to 6 frames times will go from 25 seconds to over a minute per frame. After rendering 200 frames in a sequence, render times for these ~20 second frames are 20 minutes.

Soth
11-04-2010, 10:10 AM
Does the scene have radiosity enabled?

JustForFun
11-04-2010, 10:23 AM
Yes.

89584

Soth
11-04-2010, 12:03 PM
I am not sure try again w/o cache (there is a chance that you cache file grow up to something like 3GB and it takes forever to write/save to this file - have a look) and/or w/o Use Behind Test.

I would have to check in the manual but I don't really have time ATM, try checking out here: http://www.except.nl/lightwave/RadiosityGuide96/

I hope that will help! :)

wrench
11-04-2010, 02:15 PM
Reduce the frame step for the radiosity cache as well - make it cache every 5 or 10 images rather than every single one (if you do want to keep it on), and make sure you read Tom Bosschaert's excellent guide to get to grips with how to get the best from LightWave radiosity: http://www.except.nl/lightwave/RadiosityGuide96/index.htm

B

ingo
11-05-2010, 04:29 AM
wow, 32 secondary bounce rays, thats pretty high, do you need it ? i usually start with 10 .

toby
11-06-2010, 07:01 PM
Shouldn't you be using *anim* cache? Your render times will get longer, but it's designed to remove flicker that you get when using interpolation. Using the non-anim cache with an animated character will probably show some artifacts.

JustForFun
11-08-2010, 07:30 AM
Thanks all for the responses. I will try these suggestions.

Soth
11-10-2010, 07:00 AM
Shouldn't you be using *anim* cache?
Only if stuff in the scene is moving (anything except the camera).

toby
11-10-2010, 11:44 AM
Only if stuff in the scene is moving (anything except the camera).
Obviously. He did say he has an animated character.

Soth
11-10-2010, 03:01 PM
silly me :)

bazsa73
11-10-2010, 05:53 PM
The cache is useless with deformed characters.Turn it off. The cache anyways is buggy, it does exactly what you described. We rendered 2000 frames sequence and after a while the render time per frame was ridiculously high. Others also complained about this hidden feature. I try to avoid using it.

toby
11-10-2010, 07:33 PM
The cache is useless with deformed characters.Turn it off. The cache anyways is buggy, it does exactly what you described. We rendered 2000 frames sequence and after a while the render time per frame was ridiculously high. Others also complained about this hidden feature. I try to avoid using it.
Yea I couldn't get anim cache to work, but I thought other people might have - I ended up using a low-res gi solution combined with enough (classic) motion blur passes to eliminate flickering.