PDA

View Full Version : Copying keyframes from one object to another?



Orkman
09-23-2003, 10:38 AM
Hi,

I have two objects that are very similar. I want to copy the keyframes of the one object I have already created to the other object so their animation is exactly the same.

How is this done?

THanks!

sidewing
09-23-2003, 12:42 PM
What you can do is the following:

Select your object that carries the keyframes and make a clone (Items, add, copy current item).

Then select that new object and go to Items, Replace with object layer. Then select the file and layer of your new object.

You will have now exactly the same animation. Ofcourse now you have to go to the graph editor and select an axis to offset your model (select all keyframes and move them around).

You can build in a little randomness by scaling certain parts of the graph editor.

Good luck.

Let me know if this doesn't work....

John

Tom Wood
09-23-2003, 01:40 PM
Doesn't Motion Mixer do this?

TW

sidewing
09-23-2003, 02:17 PM
Yea, but I didn't want to explain that... Takes more time if you never used it.

It definately would do the trick as well though.

tburbage
09-24-2003, 09:25 PM
You can also save all motion channels for the currently selected object (File > Save > Save Motion File), then select another object and load (File > Load > Load Motion File).