PDA

View Full Version : LW ARCHITECTURE - No MEMORY to render heavy geometry in LW?????



silviotoledo
10-24-2010, 02:46 PM
Well

I just added 14 x 1 million polygons spheres in LW 9.6.1 32 bits Win7 System.

With radiosity finalgather, 640 x 480 image real lens camera 6 phases antialising

Rendertime is 8.5 seconds on my i7 ( 8 cores ) computer

Around 2,5 k memory ram in use. I have 8 available.

Just added the 15a. sphere and Lightwave says " NO MEMORY TO RENDER "


Some friends are rendering up to 300.000 architecture polys in Max and mental Ray

What's wrong in Lightwave?

silviotoledo
10-24-2010, 02:51 PM
Is it possible to have better memory management?

Cageman
10-24-2010, 04:41 PM
Wait a minute here...

14 * 1 million = 14 million polygons... that is 14.000.000 polygons

Your friends are able to render 300.000 polygons..

I don't get it? You are rendering waaay more than those people?

Svenart
10-24-2010, 05:25 PM
you need 64 bit OS and LW, with 32bit you cannot handle so much polygons.

biliousfrog
10-25-2010, 02:06 AM
Around 2,5 k memory ram in use. I have 8 available.


32bit applications are limited to around 2gb RAM on a 32bit operating system and 4gb on a 64bit operating system. 32bit operating systems can only access 3.2gb in total and only by modifying the registry. If you want to use all of your RAM you need to switch to 64bit Windows and run 64bit applications.

silviotoledo
10-25-2010, 02:19 AM
Correction: they handle 300 million polygons in Max. I'm not sure it's instanced, but I cloned 60 millions polygons spheres in Max, and it still work very well.

I did a scene with 800 million polygons in VUE ( but vue instances the trees )

Ok, 32 Bits is limited to 3,2 gb memory but why do we need additional memory to render once it displays correctly everything in viewport when I have 14 million polys ?

Why do we need RAM memory to render?

So lightwave can't habdle that amount of geometry?

Is lightwave limited to something like 14 million polys in 32 bits version?

What does mental Ray has that manages so good the memory to render that lightwave doesn't?

StereoMike
10-25-2010, 02:40 AM
May have somethign to do with the render technology involved. Imho A bucket renderer doesn't need that much ram for each piece as LW renderer does.

Sensei
10-25-2010, 03:14 AM
Why do we need RAM memory to render?

KD-Tree for optimizing geometry, and memory for frame buffers.

When rendering with interpolated GI, memory needed to store GI samples.



What does mental Ray has that manages so good the memory to render that lightwave doesn't?

Is LightWave faster rendering the same scene than Mental Ray?
(scene that doesn't use any nodal shading, nor GI, nor other lights than distant/point)

Danner
10-25-2010, 03:14 AM
Ok, 32 Bits is limited to 3,2 gb memory but why do we need additional memory to render once it displays correctly everything in viewport when I have 14 million polys ?


Because it takes more memory to render a scene than to send an opegl display.



Why do we need RAM memory to render?


See above




So lightwave can't habdle that amount of geometry?


Not with 32bit OS or little ram, no.



Is lightwave limited to something like 14 million polys in 32 bits version?


I've run into memory problems with less than 14milion polys. Using 32bit




What does mental Ray has that manages so good the memory to render that lightwave doesn't?

What does a cow have that a horse doesn't? They are just different animals.

Sensei
10-25-2010, 03:27 AM
I've run into memory problems with less than 14milion polys. Using 32bit

Because you had large image maps, or lot of them, and maybe higher resolution. Basically other things were eating available memory.

Large image map can be reduced by using infiniMap.
Large resolution can be reduced by VirtualRender http://virtualrender.trueart.eu
(as you can see in gallery I have been rendering even 16000x12000 with radiosity in Kray+VirtualRender)