PDA

View Full Version : unreal2 extreme toon shader and varying line thickness

mattratcliffe
10-16-2010, 10:37 AM
Hi all

I've been wrestling with the unreal toon shader and have hit a brick wall. Basically I want to control the edgetracer line width using the incidence angle of the light. However I've tweaked the nodes in the pixel filter toontracer and it just doesn't work.

http://screencast.com/t/SSKJ4D2Km

And a screenshot of what I have at the moment:

http://screencast.com/t/9wlROkOGuC

I'm a nodes noob and this combined with very little documentation out there is making it a difficult challenge.

Any help would be much appreciated as I'm pulling my hair out!

thanks

Matt

nickdigital
10-16-2010, 03:20 PM
I think you need to plug the light info into a gradiant node, not an incidence node...I think. I'm a noob with nodes too.

The only time I've had to change line thickness I've done it with a procedural to give a brush look to it.

MooseDog
10-16-2010, 05:45 PM
I think you need to plug the light info into a gradiant node, not an incidence node...I think. I'm a noob with nodes too.

good first step :thumbsup:

mattratcliffe
10-17-2010, 05:28 AM
Thanks for the replies guys. I've had a go with the gradient but still nothing.

When I add a texture straight into the size section of the toonshader (when I press the T )I can control the line thickness because the gradient gives me values I can put in. I can't add in incidence or light incidence, only normal angle (which is stupid):cursin:

http://screencast.com/t/41fvjdkjSTlO

The problem I think is how gradients work in nodes. When I add a gradient node it doesn't have these values any more, just colour and alpha. I think the edgetracer brush is looking for values and not colours to control it's line thickness. Does anyone know how to add values into a gradient in the node editor.

http://screencast.com/t/xPmsMKRRmI01