PDA

View Full Version : motion saved to another character



lreyes
10-12-2010, 08:48 PM
How dose one go about putting a save motion into a different character, does the character have to have bones in it with Ik or does the motion put IK into it. My book does not go into detial on this. Lets say I had a character jumping and I saved the motion to a file, how do I use that saved motion to a completely new model?

nickdigital
10-12-2010, 09:45 PM
Saving out a motion file is just saving out the motion for that object/light/camera...I know that explanation seems really lame but it's not more in-depth than that.

Saving out the motion file on an IK goal isn't different than the motion file of say, a camera path. There's no special IK motion file.

You could save out and load your motion file onto another character but it might not line up right if your characters have different proportions. You could try saving/loading up the motion information between bones. As long as your skeletons are the same then the rotational information is the only thing that would be different.

This scripts/plug-ins may be of help if you're going to be doing a lot with motion files.
http://jezza.lwidof.net/lscript/#copy_paste_motion
http://flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1267
http://flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1245

lreyes
10-12-2010, 10:36 PM
Actually I should have said that I loaded a static character into Jimmy rig and then save that motion into lw scene, then I save that motion to a file. I want to load that same character and put that motion I save from JR (Jimmy Rig) and put it back into the Jimmy Rig motion into the same character, now be advised that my orginal character did not have bones, only bones from JR, but the reason I want to put that motion from Jr is that I can tweet the movement to refine it better, hope I did not dig myself into a hole with this question...

Skywatcher_NT
10-13-2010, 04:57 AM
With keyframer you can load and save animationclips from
selected objects/channels/hierarchies.
Very nice. You can also copy from node to node (frame or motion data).
Etc....
Cool little plug. --> utilities/Additional Menu in layout.
I think it comes standard with LW ( not sure though ).
If not you can surely find it on Flay.com

Skywatcher_NT
10-13-2010, 09:32 AM
:cry:
just watch out that it doesn't delete/overwrite all your files in your contentdir...
:cursin:
Newtek ?????

lreyes
10-13-2010, 05:40 PM
Jimmy rig does not put bones on fingers, so when you transfer the rig to LW, one has to restructure the rig from JR to fullfill the animation better. In some cases, the feet seem to vibrate when doing some motion in JR, I think JR is just for fun and not really for production. Although I like some of the motion library that JR has, but some do not work well in LW because of the bone rig in JR.