PDA

View Full Version : Zoom bug - ZClip

Bigboy
09-22-2003, 03:37 AM
Hi,

Id like to query the Newtek guys on the zoom+ZClip they get with openGL... They claim this is a feature+limit of open gl, but being an experienced graphics programmer, I'd like to ask just how they are going about this, as no one else I know has ever gotten this problem.

It "looks" like they are changing the camera field of view for ZOOM, rather than moving the camera in (translating). Can I ask why?

The ZClip is bloody annoying, and is the only limiting feature I found in another wise damn fine piece of software...

When doing a "SHIFT-A", this fixes the clip problem, this is because they have now moved the camera....so why not do this on ZOOM as well? Just move the camera down the current vector? I had a play, and I assume this is so they can zoom in, rotate, and zoom out but still be focused on the current point or something? I would argue there are other ways to do this without hitting the ZClip thing, scaling springs to.....?

Anyway...Just though Id ask..

fxnut
09-22-2003, 04:27 AM
Originally posted by Bigboy
It "looks" like they are changing the camera field of view for ZOOM, rather than moving the camera in (translating). Can I ask why?

Are you talking about the Modeller 3D viewport? (I'm guessing you are, since you mentioned doing a Shift+A) Cause as far as I can tell, they're not changing the field of view at all, and they're just using the gluLookAt() function (or something which has a very similar result anyway). I don't get any clipping issues at all with the Modeller viewport.