PDA

View Full Version : Following a goal

leeinaustralia
09-30-2010, 09:04 PM
Feel free to laugh at me as I am no expert in Lightwave, though I have dabbled with it for years.

My problem is this. I have a character operating a floor sander. Very basic and character animation is something I have rarely touched. I have set the character and sander up so that if I move the sander back and fourth, the handle tilts back toward the character, and his hands keep hold of the handle and his arms bend appropriately..... BUT..... this only works when I am physically moving the sander. If I render the scene, the rendered image shows the hands by his side and not on the handle. If I move the frame slider, the hands also jump down to his sides, and dont stay on the handle, but if I re-position the base of the sander, the hands once again return to the sander handle.

I have a skeleton in the human body with individual fingers. I have a wrist bone which has a goal (Null Object) as well as a 5 finger goals (again null objects) to get the hand steady on the handles of the floor sander.

The Sander is a 2 layer object. 1st being the base, the 2nd being the handle. I have set the handle to point to a target which I place between the sander and the human form. As the base is being moved, the handle tilts nicely. I have created a null called "Right Targets" for all the hand goals which I have positioned appropriately near the handle and is now (a) A CHILD to the Handle layer of the sander and (b) a PARENT to all of the finger goals.

As the sander base moves, the handle points at the Handle Goal and tilts, the hands grip the handle and move with it all very nicely, but as soon as I move the frame slider, the hands snap down to his sides. They move a little but not even close to the handle.

Also, if I reposition the base of the sander (tilting handle and hands in position nicely), the rendered image still shows the hands by his side.