PDA

View Full Version : FCP and TriCaster



ACross
09-17-2010, 09:01 PM
I have seen a lot of different threads in which people are having problems getting the MPEG files from TriCaster to work in FinalCutPro.

The following outlines why this happens and what you can do about it :
In order to play MPEG-2 files on FinalCutPro, or with the Mac in general you need to have the "QuickTime MPEG-2 Playback Component for Mac OS X" installed on your system. This component ships with FinalCutPro as standard and so from a clean install you should be able to work with NewTek MPEG-2 files. Unfortunately, if you download a QuickTime update from the web, it will replace your entire QuickTime install and so the MPEG-2 playback component is no longer available and files will not play. The solution that Apple recommend for this problem is to use your account on the Apple store to download the plugin for the new version of QuickTime and install it manually.

There are three limitations of the "QuickTime MPEG-2 Playback Component for Mac OS X" that one should be aware of:

Unfortunately QuickTime does not support high profile MPEG-2 files; as such you will need to use the "normal profile" files as the recording format inside the TriCaster. For all normal use there will be almost no perceptible difference between normal and high profile MPEG-2 files. Both far exceed the quality of competing formats (e.g. DV).
Embedded audio. It is a limitation of FinalCutPro support that it cannot read the audio embedded within an MPEG-2 file. For this reason, TriCaster writes out an MP3 file that you can lock to the video file for editing purposes.
Unfortunately FinalCutPro does not tag MPEG-2 files as "an optimized file format" and so for areas of your time-line where there are transitions of effects you might need to render before you can get perfect playback.


For more information about MPEG-2 support in QuickTime, please visit
http://www.apple.com/quicktime/extending/components.html

The goal of my post is to provide information that might help troubleshoot any issues that you might have. I have posted in detail the reason that we use industry standard MPEG-2 files over the alternatives. We are always re-examining our options and if you have comments please do not hesitate to contact me directly ([email protected]).

Andrew

PIZAZZ
09-18-2010, 10:47 AM
This should be made STICKY and placed at the top of every TriCaster subforum.

I can't even count how many times I have said the same thing over and over and over....

treshawks
09-18-2010, 11:24 AM
I agree Jef. At least until the studio profile option is removed or compatible with FCP. Until then, I think we'll be cutting and pasting links and replies often. Here are some recent threads that are at least partially related to the same information repeated here:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=96309

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=112415&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=112368&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=112156&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=111999&highlight=MPEG2

Might fix ya:
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=111499&highlight=FCP

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=96309&highlight=MPEG2

Might fix ya:
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108085&highlight=handbrake

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=105449&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=110255&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=109822&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=109395&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=109391&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108707&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108260&highlight=MPEG2

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107738&highlight=MPEG2

SBowie
09-18-2010, 11:35 AM
I agree Jef. At least until the studio profile option is removed or compatible with FCP. Until then, I think we'll be cutting and pasting links and replies often.First, I don't think we want to remove the Studio profile, since it provides very good quality. And the fact that FCP can't load it doesn't change that fact. A more useful approach would be to lobby Apple for better MPEG2 support in FCP, since that's the real problem.

treshawks
09-18-2010, 11:51 AM
Yeah, but it has been my experience that NewTek is much more approachable and responsive regarding these technical challenges. But, I'll be lobbying from several angles.

ACross
09-18-2010, 03:35 PM
Yeah, but it has been my experience that NewTek is much more approachable and responsive regarding these technical challenges. But, I'll be lobbying from several angles.

A bit of history ... We originally did not have the Studio profile option when it was very first added. At that point we had a number of people who really needed the 4:2:2 color support that high profile (or studio profile) allow you to encode into the file. In practice this probably is onLy an issue in sd.

:devil: I am slightly speculating here and this is certainly for advanced users ... but I believe that recently someone posted on the forums how you can use ffmpeg to rewrap and mpeg clip into a mov file (something that the export media option in tcxd850 also supports directly.) It seems likely to me that if you use this option and have perian (http://perian.org/) installed then you will be able to use high profile mpegs in fcp. One other benefit no matter what of movs written in this way is that they would have embedded audio.

I will leave it to the forum oracle Steve Bowie to decide whether he want a to make this thread sticky or not.

Andrew

Andrew