PDA

View Full Version : Rubik's Cube rig posible or not posible



oliversimonnet
09-05-2010, 04:40 PM
hello every one
for about 6 months now i have been going over and over in my head how i would go about a Rubik's cube animation or rig
now finnaly tonight i though i had it haha
i thought if i gave each cube its own weight map and its own bone then i could parent the boned to a null and rotate the null and there you go
but then i realised that i would need to be able to parent each Bone to 2 nulls one for one rotation and another for the other rotation as you all no each set of bricks rotate in 2 different ways
so that did not work
then i thought maybe if i put in 2 ones for each block, so then i went in and spend like another 20 min naming these bones so i didn't get confused and placing them in the rite place
ok so then i parented these 2nd bones to the 1st bones and set the whightmap to the parent and then it turned out that i had to unparent the bones from the mesh to parent them to the new bones and so the mesh did not deform
anyway i could go on and on don for ages about all the different ways i tryed and they all sum up to I CANOT DO IT hahaha

so i was wondering is it even possible to rig a Rubik's cube haha

but i am pretty sure that if i could parent the bones to the mesh and ALSO the the null then it would work
aslong as i could parent each bone to 2 nulls and a mesh, so 3 objects haha.

so just in case you have got confused i no i have haha

im asking if it tis possible to parent 1 objecs (in this case 1 bone) to 3 objects

and also if it is possible to rigg a Rubik's Cube and if it is it is DEFINITELY the hardest thing to rig haha

thank you in advance

-Oliver

Pavlov
09-05-2010, 05:34 PM
hi,
i never thought about it but i must agree it's quite a challenging one.
And since i love challenges, i'll give it a try as soon as i've some spare time.

Paolo

RebelHill
09-05-2010, 06:20 PM
Soooooooooooooooo easy... it doesnt even require a rig per se.

Create a single cube in modeller. In layout clone it (26 times) to create a 3X3X3 array. use the move pivot tool to move the pivot point of each cube to the centre of the array.

Now you can just multi select all the cubes making one side, and rotate them.

Due to eurler rotation order, you will get gimbal lock, and find some rotations are blocked, and if you switch to local co-ords, you get drift between frames. This can be fixed by applying quaternion booster to each cube, allowing you to rotate on local axis each time.

RebelHill
09-05-2010, 06:47 PM
just hit play.

jameswillmott
09-05-2010, 06:59 PM
Soooooooooooooooo easy... it doesnt even require a rig per se.



Doh, simple and elegant! Nice.

oliversimonnet
09-06-2010, 02:46 AM
haha thanks
i cant belive i dodnt thing about it like that hahaha :)

RebelHill
09-06-2010, 03:32 AM
yeah, hang on.... was late last night, and Ive realised I made a boo boo.

I meant WORLD co-ords, not local. If you use local or parent, then axis cross over after the first block has been rotated... so you use world... which of course means that the cube array must be aligned parallel to the world axis.

As you can see, I have the array as a child of a null, so you would align and animate the cube in world mode, then once keyed, move or spin the null, or constrain it to whatever, to move the animation to a non world parallel position.

Oh yeah, and you have to key all of the cube objects every time you make a rotation, not just the set that are being rotated.

oliversimonnet
09-06-2010, 03:38 AM
aaa ok thanks for the info :)

RebelHill
09-06-2010, 03:44 AM
Thinking about it, I should also point out, both for yourself, and anyone else learning...

The rubics cube is kind of to rigging what the bouncing ball is to animation. The ball teaches the 2 FUNDAMENTAL concepts of timing, and spacing... if you dont understand those, your animation will never work out.

Likewise, the cube demonstrates the principles of PIVOT LOCATION, and ROTATION ORDER... if these things arent ingrained in your process you'll waste a ton of time effing around trying to rig stuff and not having it work out.

Remember my complaints about the root bone being outside your character... thats a failure to observe good pivot location. Extend the concept to characters, and you start to see things in these terms here... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=509huTkNcVY

So yeah... you get the point.

safetyman
09-07-2010, 10:12 AM
Dude -- you should, like, put out a rigging video or something.

The Wizzard
09-22-2018, 07:53 AM
I recently had a client inquiry about this. Thank you to @RebelHill for the info.
Here's the results of the last two days :)
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLWRTMby105bggHzKNahMQxIqG3MikkBqy

Subscribe! LOL

hrgiger
09-22-2018, 11:40 AM
Dynamic parenting.

https://www.pixelfondue.com/blog/2017/8/28/modo-dynamic-parenting?rq=cube

The Wizzard
09-22-2018, 03:34 PM
Dynamic parenting.

https://www.pixelfondue.com/blog/2017/8/28/modo-dynamic-parenting?rq=cube

Lightwave??

Ztreem
09-22-2018, 05:14 PM
Lightwave??

There is a dynamic parenter in LW you could use with the same technique.

erikals
09-22-2018, 05:55 PM
hope it is alright to re-upload Rebel's original shared scene file >
(think it got lost in the NT forum crash years back)

in Layout, remember to set to > World Coordinates

JamesCurtis
09-22-2018, 11:19 PM
Thanks much.

erikals
09-23-2018, 04:10 AM
Craig Monins is The One!   https://i.imgur.com/tJGL61i.png


https://i.imgur.com/fMb2Mjm.gif