PDA

View Full Version : Advices needed

LightRock
08-29-2010, 10:32 AM
Hi all,

I am evaluating/learning LightWave and would like to get some advices.

Here are some background info: I am new to 3D in general. In my plan, the main use of LightWave is for animation. I am not particularly interested in modeling and will try to do as little as possible. With that, here are the questions.

1. Can I buy or get free characters (humen and creatures) and import into LightWave to use? In what formats? Where can I buy them? DAZ?

2. Is it easy to modify the pre-made characters inside LightWave? Or should I get ZBrush to customize the characters first and import them from ZBrush to LightWave?

3. It also seems easier to create a human character in Blender, according to some tutorials on the web. Is it a good idea to make characters in Blender and then import them into LightWave?

4. After getting the characters into LightWave, can I use Messiah or some other plugins to easily rig and animate them? I don't want to spend days rigging a character. I also want a plugin to help animating.

5. Is LightWave also good in creating natural environments? City scenes, forests, mountains, ocean, etc. Should I also get Vue?

I think these are enough questions for one post :). Any advices will be much appreciated.

LightRock

JeffrySG
08-29-2010, 11:00 AM
Looks like you are planning on doing a lot of 3d work. If you plan on creating your characters in Blender why not just use Blender for everything?

Also, what are you planning on creating? a movie? web animations? TV work? and how much is your budget for the 3d tools? Tell us what your main goal is and we might be able to give you accurate answers.

If you're really new to 3d you've got a long road to really create high quality work using any application especially if you need to learn, modeling, rigging, texturing, rendering, etc.

But,

1. Yes. LWO, OBJ. Many places sell 3d models and there are many places that offer free models.