PDA

View Full Version : a question for the node experts



ingo
08-23-2010, 06:15 AM
is it possible to make something like in the attached texture with the BlockShaderNodes ? The main problem is the random variation of the row height. So is it possible to have for example 3 heights, like 15, 25 and 40 cm and link them via a random node to the input field of the block height ?

Sensei
08-31-2010, 07:58 AM
Real randomization is bad. Because it's random every single pressing F9 and complete disaster in F10 sequence rendering. As long as randomization is done just once per frame, not more often like randomization per sample evaluation.

Randomization can be cheated by gradient, where you will put some values depending on input given. And each time same input is send to gradient, the same output is returned by it.

BTW, never heard of BlockShaderNodes.. I guess so it's 3rd party node?

Gradient node can use f.e. world spot X or Z position (if it has to be texture to floor).

ASCIISkull
09-04-2010, 10:10 PM
I think it was part of the renderman plugins Dpont ported to lightwave a while back.