PDA

View Full Version : need tire rotation



rednova
08-22-2010, 03:23 PM
Dear Friends:

I decided I wanted to take the lw obj porsche for a spin.
I noticed in layout that the tires are part of the main object and can't
move. I went to modeler, I loaded the porsche, and selected all tires
one by one, then resave them as different objects.
Now I can load the car and the tires as separate objects in layout.
So far so good.
I can select the tires individually, or two at the time.If i try to use rotation,
the wheels don't rotate as I want to, to rotate on their axes.
Instead, they rotate in a different way, go around space, w/o rotation on their center axes.
Can anyone help me to rotate the wheels ?
Thank you !!!

Rednova

walfridson
08-22-2010, 03:25 PM
mike green got a script for ya
http://www.mikegreen.name/Lscripts.html

dwburman
08-24-2010, 11:14 PM
You need to move the pivot point to the center of the tire. Probably the easiest way to do that is load each tire object in modeler and hit F2 to center the object, but if you do that you'll have to move the wheels into position in layout.

You set the pivot point in Modeler with the "Pivot" and "Center Pivot" tools in the View tab. If you do set the pivot in modeler you'll want to load the wheels in Layout again since changes to the pivot location in modeler don't update in Layout.

You set the pivot point in Layout using the "Move Pivot" and "Rotate Pivot" tools in the Modify Tab.

You may also want to check out this tutorial for getting the wheels to automatically turn based on the car's motion. (you may have to right-click and 'save link as') ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/Dr_Wheel.mov

erikals
08-26-2010, 07:01 AM
mike green got a script for ya
http://www.mikegreen.name/Lscripts.html

yup,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4iyUBYMCDM
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1014384#post1014384