PDA

View Full Version : Explosion Help!



SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 02:38 PM
I recently made this ship:
87407
and I've put together a pretty nice explosion for it,
but could somebody give me a step by step instruction on how to make it break apart when exploding? (no links to other websites, please.)
Thanks!

oliversimonnet
08-16-2010, 02:59 PM
mm i think i have an idea (NOTE: i have never tried it before tho on a ship, only on walls, and windows :S

1- you could create a copy of it (in modeler) and use a plugin like "crack it" to cut it up into peaces.
2- then in layout import both models (in separate layers)
3- set the object dissolve on the cut up ship to 100 at frame 0 (so you can see it) and leave the object dissolve on the not cutup ship to 0 (so you can see it)
4- make sure they are both in exactly the same please wen you want the ship to explode.
5- then attach hard effects to the cut up ship and create a collision object
6- at the frame were you want the ship to explode, drive the collision object into the cut up ship
7- now when the collision object hits the ship, you want to set the object dissolve to 0 on the cut up ship and 100 on the not cut up ship

i am not sure if this would 100% work i have never tried it with a ship before haha.
but its a theory :) hope this helps :)

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 03:03 PM
I tried that once, and It looked got from a distance, but not up close.
It's a good idea, And I'll try it if All else fails.
Thanks.

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 03:09 PM
You probably need to make smaller pieces. It would also help to have a basic interior to your ship. You wouldn't want your pieces to look like pieces of rock whereas on a ship you would have the interior wall structure and cavities for hallways.

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 03:14 PM
It's only a single person ship. :-) I'm wondering more on HOW to make it explode, not WHAT to explode. It's only one layer, and HardFX won't work.

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 03:25 PM
Can you be more specific as to why HardFX isn't working?

I guess the other alternative would be to cut up the ship and put each piece on a layer and animate it by hand. But using HardFX should eliminate the need to do that.

Are you looking for a specific look or explosion sequence?

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 03:28 PM
HardFX isn't working because there's no way to engage it when it hits a colission
object. It just flies away. if I could find a way to start HardFX when it hits a collision object, then oliversimmonet's suggestion would work.

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 03:40 PM
If anyone, like me, is a big fan of the 1990's TV show, Babylon 5, they know it was sone with Lightwave. In the episode, "Knives" (season 2), Sheridan's fighter Blows up, and he ejects just in time. now later they overlay real explosions, but I don't want to do that. That is just one example, (albiet a bad one,) but could somebody go on youtube and look at explosion videos from B5 and tell me their best guess on how they did those explosions?

oliversimonnet
08-16-2010, 03:43 PM
mm i think (if you havent tryed this)
go into the ships property's
go to dynamics
then in the hard effects tab go to "collision" then clik "start by collision"
see if that works :)

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 03:44 PM
You can have a collision start by an event.

These files are crudely put together but it shows you can control when it will happen.

oliversimonnet
08-16-2010, 03:47 PM
You can have a collision start by an event.

These files are crudely put together but it shows you can control when it will happen.

snap! hahaha

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 03:58 PM
OK Thanks! I'll try it and if it doesn't work I'll come back.

oliversimonnet
08-16-2010, 04:06 PM
ok :)

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 05:45 PM
:help:Alright I've tried it. I set the copied object on hardFX for 1piece>parts (collision), and set particle dissiolve so the original would dissapear and the copied one would appear at frame 120. I hit calculate, and when I got to frame 120, the HardFX object was WAAAY far away from where it was supposed to be. HELP!

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 06:19 PM
Does your ship and the copy have the same motion or are they parented both to the same parent?

Is your HardFX simulation happening at frame zero or is it happening when it's supposed to?

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 06:21 PM
My Ship is not parented to anything, and the copy is parented to the original. The original is not a dynamic object

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 06:25 PM
What about your simulation...is happening when it's supposed to?

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 06:28 PM
Alright. The ship is spinning around and around, but is going down the global Z axis. then, at frame 120, It disappears, and is replaced by the copied ship.

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 06:37 PM
Ok...and the copied ship is the one with the HardFX. So what happens after frame 120?

Is it doing something similar to what's in the attached file?
Aside from not having the dissolve on and off object the ball explodes at a certain frame with moving.

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 06:41 PM
This is an example of what happens BEFORE the ship explodes in OpernGL. ALSO: i don't need two ships, because I just want is to break apart with the existing geometry.
87418
frame 120 is when the explosion starts.
frame 0-120 ship spinning out of control
frame 120-end ship breaking apart and blowing up

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 06:45 PM
So at frames 9 and 10 your model starts to explode? So it's happening before you want it to? Sounds like your HardFX/Collisions settings are doing something before you want them to.

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 06:47 PM
I want HardFX to be nonexistent until frame 120.

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 06:56 PM
Right, have you looked at the files I attached? You can set the HardFX object to only start it's collision based on it reacting with a collision object. So with my collision object there's an envelope on it's size so it's 0 m at the start. Meaning it's not big enough to affect the HardFX object. I then scale up the collision object when I want the explosion to start.

So for your scene you would have your collision object have a value of 0 m for the first 120 frames.

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 07:48 PM
no. That is just what happens if I have hardFX in the object, and spin it. no collision objects or anything. Just the ship.

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 07:51 PM
Basically I want something like a start frame input field in the particle UI saying when The hardFX should start taking effect. When the ship is flying around, I want HardFX to not have any effect on the object whatsoever, and then when It hits the collision object, or a frame of my choice, I want HardFX to start taking effect.

nickdigital
08-16-2010, 09:09 PM
Right...in your HardFX object's setting there's a pulldown to have it Start By. Have it Start By Collision Object.

I believe this is the only way to control when a HardFX simulation will start.

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 09:59 PM
OK, now I see it.

SonicN2O
08-16-2010, 10:06 PM
It's working so far. Thanks for the help!

SonicN2O
08-17-2010, 10:50 AM
It works!:):):):):)

nickdigital
08-17-2010, 10:53 AM
:thumbsup: