PDA

View Full Version : Noobie question-Exporting LT to Tricaster

kricher
08-14-2010, 07:27 PM
I am very new at all this. I have LT2 on my laptop and I'm trying to create titles offline for use on my TC Studio. Whenever I try to open the CG file on the Tricaster, it freezes and I have to do a hard shutdown. Likewise whenever I take a CG file from the TC and try to open it in LT2 on my laptop, the program freezes and I have to end task. What am I missing?

-Ken

ZachSchuster
08-14-2010, 07:55 PM
It may be that TC Studio is not compatible with LT2 files. LT2 is still a "new" release, and an update for Studio has not come out since LT2's release.

That being said, is there a particular reason, if you have a laptop running LT2, that you aren't using that laptop for live productions? There are huge advantages to running CG on a separate workstation. All you need to do is make sure the laptop and the Studio are on the same network.

Just my opinion. There may be other factors limiting you from using your laptop during live productions.

kricher
08-14-2010, 08:34 PM
Hi Zach,
I know it works really slick to run a laptop for graphics and we probably will some of the time. I was just thinking that I could work back and forth between the two and have my CG pages loaded on the TC for those times we don't have the manpower or desire to run the laptop alongside.

I'll have to do some reading in the LT2 documentation and see if it says anything about not being compatible with TC Studio's version of LT. I'm not running any datalink communication, these are just very simple pages.

-Ken

SBowie
08-15-2010, 06:35 AM
If memory serves, I think LT2 .cg files are not backwards compatible with older versions. That is to say, you can't load a .cg file from LT2 into LT 1.x (or Edit Text on an SD version TriCaster); or, for that matter, SE 1.0 or Edit Media. (Naturally, you can do the reverse, though.)