PDA

View Full Version : "Out of memory while rendering" error?

studlybw
08-13-2010, 08:39 AM
I was rendering a pretty simple scene with 1066575 polygons last night and it got about 3/4 of the way through and stopped with the error "Out of memory while rendering". I have 6GB on my Mac Pro running 9.6.1 (yes, it's beta but it seems to work much better than 9.6) and can render the frame it crashed at with an F9 with no problem. Does LW not clear it's cache files periodically? I'm also using HDInstance v2.1.0 to cut down on polys but maybe it's not cutting down enough.
I've been using LW since v4 but I'm still a bit of a noob since I don't use it extensively. What am I doing wrong? What can fix this? I'm on a tight deadline. Sucks to be me.:help:

One more thing, I'm using final gather radiosity and have "Cache" checked for it.

tribbles
08-13-2010, 08:54 AM
Firstly, If you leave the image viewer open, then that will use up memory for the previous images - so close that down.

Secondly, 9.6 will be 32-bit, whilst 9.6.1 will be 64-bit. I wasn't sure if you were were using 9.6.1 and it crashed, or it's 9.6 that was crashing. 32-bit will reduce the amount of memory for the application to theoretically 4G, but there'll be some overhead.

Thirdly, I'd render to an image, rather than with F9, since you don't need the memory for viewing the image.

studlybw
08-13-2010, 09:00 AM
I'm sorry, I was a little vague and confusing in my post (so many details involved). I'm rendering a sequence to PSD files (540 frames total) in 9.6.1 with the Image viewer closed but showing the current frame as it's being rendered (the progress screen).

Thanks for the ideas. Got any more?

tribbles
08-13-2010, 09:02 AM
There's a way to limit the amount of memory that the render will do for each pass - once I see its name, I'll remember what it is, but unfortunately, I'm at work, and don't have LW to hand.

Something like "buffer memory". You may need to lower that.

Sensei
08-13-2010, 09:34 AM