PDA

View Full Version : Ik verses ik booster

Tony3d
08-11-2010, 04:27 AM
Hi all, I'm having all kinds of issues working with ik. I'm new to it, and don't really understand what I'm doing. Is there a good video tutorial on the subject? I have played with skeletons, and ik booster. I'm having better luck going that route. What's the advantage of using the standard ik, since ik booster seems to do most the setup work for you? Thanks for your time.

RebelHill
08-11-2010, 04:43 AM
The advantage is that standard IK is reliable, and lets you do exactly what you want, and IKB is jsut a nightmare. Its wonderful a a stills posing tool, its really good as an animation editing tool (editing mocap and the like), but for hand animation its pretty pretty terrible.

IKbooster isnt really IK, its FK... it just uses IK to create a pose, but not between poses, so there's foot slide (which has to be baked and fixed afterwards... terrible), and the IK itself isnt that great, and will often give you different IK resutls for the same end position.

There's a LOT to learn about IK, how it works, why it works, what makes it stabel, what doesnt, etc, and it takes a good while to learn it, and then be able to apply it. IKB looks like a nice shortcut past all that, but its not... it is much less work, but also much lesser resuts.

Elmar Moelzer
08-11-2010, 04:50 AM
IKB is not meant to be used instead of LWs classic IK, it is meant to be used WITH LWs classic IK. Thats why it is called an IK Booster. Larry- SplineGod- Schultz can teach you how to use it right.
He is one of the few people that actually understood IKB correctly.

pooby
08-11-2010, 09:17 AM
I'm still waiting to see a decent IK boost animation. I think I'm up to something like 5 years waiting time now.
I've been managing to fill that time with other things to try and keep me occupied, but its been playing heavily on my mind.