PDA

View Full Version : Solid volume simulation



Fernee
08-10-2010, 01:33 PM
Does anyone knows how to make a solid volume simulation?
I have to make a ball to be cut from north pole to south pole, like an invisible volume going down and making thae ball shrink, but still looking the "disc" inside, like if the ball is made of a solid mass...
I tried morphs, but won't work, and tried to look for some plugin, and can't find anything...
Any ideas?
Thanks a lot.
:help:

nickdigital
08-10-2010, 01:51 PM
Sounds like you want an animated boolean.

http://newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51647&highlight=animated+boolean

medicalart
08-10-2010, 07:54 PM
There's an old tutorial using clip maps and the matte object button, but I can't locate it at the moment. Layout > Object properties > Render tab

If I find anything else, I'll post it.

Elmar Moelzer
08-11-2010, 04:53 AM
You could also use VoluMedic ;)
Like here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=58IVTEWqIBs

prometheus
08-11-2010, 06:20 AM
you could try the free plugin fertilizer.
http://www2.informatik.hu-berlin.de/~goetsch/Fertilizer

videos on how to use it
http://www.md-arts.com/tutorials/lw_tutorials/tutorials.html

you need to create weightmap starting at the start and end pole vertices.

samples
http://www2.informatik.hu-berlin.de/~goetsch/Fertilizer/wachsani5.avi
http://www2.informatik.hu-berlin.de/~goetsch/Fertilizer/wachsani6.avi

Michael

dballesg
08-11-2010, 06:52 AM
Hi,

You can use the SHIFT Boolean (http://web.archive.org/web/20050214190632/http://shift.gr.jp/html/staff/sp/sp000002.html) texture plug-in, from web archive, because it's web site author is gone.

Or FI's FakeBoolean (http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=2a2e00de) on lwplugindb, author's web site disappeared too.

Here there is a tutorial from Steve Warner explaining both:

Boolean Texture (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=76657)

David

medicalart
08-11-2010, 07:18 AM
[QUOTE=medicalart;1046806]There's an old tutorial using clip maps and the matte object button, but I can't locate it at the moment. Layout > Object properties > Render tab

ON the same page as the Fertilizer tutorial is the CLIP MAP tutorial. That will show you how to keep a surface on a cut volume.

http://www.md-arts.com/tutorials/lw_tutorials/tutorials.html

Andyjaggy
08-11-2010, 09:24 AM
I've had to do this before. It was just easier to jump into a different program and use an animated boolean.

Elmar Moelzer
08-11-2010, 02:38 PM
I've had to do this before. It was just easier to jump into a different program and use an animated boolean.

Andy... sigh, never mind...

Andyjaggy
08-13-2010, 08:45 AM
Well it's the sad truth. I could have spent an hour trying to figure out how to do it in Lightwave, with a variety of hacks and free/paid plugins or I could have gone elsewhere and had it done in about 2 minutes. The choice was clear.

I know though, if that's all I have to say why do I even bother posting. Good question. :)

probiner
08-13-2010, 09:27 AM
If you found light in your creative technical work path, why not share it Andy?

Meanwhile, if the guy is really trying to do it in LW, no matter what, that light won't do much will it? :p

Although we have seen some examples of rudeness from people that used LW and now found better solutions for their needs, they should never shut up, so that the LW community won't be kept in the dark and LW itself can improve.

Your post are welcome.

Cheers

Andyjaggy
08-13-2010, 09:45 AM
True, it's not realy helpful if someone doesn't have another program. I am lucky enough to have access to multiple programs so I can choose which is easiest for the task at hand.

Having those options however eliminates the desire to spend hours trying to figure out a way to do something in one program when you can just go elsewhere and have it done much more quickly.

It's certainly admirable to figure out ways to do things where no obvious solution presenets itself, and those kind of problem solvers have my admiration. However after years of doing this stuff, I just don't care. :) I want to get it done well and quickly so that I can go home and be with my wife at the end of the day, and if that means using another program so be it.

Elmar Moelzer
08-13-2010, 05:31 PM
As I said, VoluMedic will cost you less than any of those "other programmes", I will allow you to do things you cant do in them either and it will solve his problems. In fact, he will get better results from it, than he could get from any of the other packages.
I am not saying this because I want to promote my own software, but because it is the truth.
All the other (often free) plugins and techniques mentioned here will also give acceptable results for the fraction of the cost of an alternative software package.

Mr Rid
08-13-2010, 06:04 PM
Not sure what you are describing. Maybe the opposite of this?
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=955632&postcount=7

Julez4001
09-10-2010, 12:25 PM
Not sure what you are describing. Maybe the opposite of this?
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=955632&postcount=7

That was really nice.