PDA

View Full Version : Sending a Studio Feed with Skype



ZachSchuster
08-06-2010, 10:41 PM
We've discussed how to bring a Skype feed in to Tricaster via iVGA, but what methods are people using to send a studio feed to the person joining in via Skype? I myself have used a Canopus AVCD100 analog-to-digital converter to send a fixed camera shot to the remote guest.

Has anyone tried the USB dongles with A/V inputs?

What other methods have people used to maximize their workflow?

pdxJoe
08-07-2010, 12:29 AM
Hey Zach,

My skype integration is based on Leo Laporte's. I believe it was spec'd and built by Colleen (@digitalkitty). http://leoville.com/the-skypesaurus-story

The return feed is via composite into an Hauppauge Impact VCB PCI card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815116021) installed into the PC. I'm on older versions of skype, so I can't confirm it works with the current release. I have no issues connecting with others and thus have not updated.

I have 3 skype machines that output an S-video signal to the tricaster and receive a program return feed, much like Leo's setup.

This week I had Captain "Sully" Sullenberger and Boxing legend Sugar Ray Leonard on the same webcast. They were brought in from different locations using this setup.

Joe Christensen

joseburgos
08-07-2010, 11:09 AM
The Black Magic Intensity Pro card also works with Skype but only in SD right now. I am working on getting it to work in HD to use with the XD TriCaster line. Since BMD seems to work with Skype, it is possible their USB SD device may also work, which would be what you are looking for I believe.
To get Skype to except an HD input for the webcam, it looks like I need to edit the XML config file but I need to research this a bit more as simple changes have not yet worked.

Take care,

DeanAU
08-11-2010, 08:29 PM
I've used a canopus to take the program out and convert to DV and use that as a source in skype on a mac mini

http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/deanau/vzIlmfsfawGkJbmJfnowkpoaDBplhGEjdmtvJbDCzGhwzGcocq onenIjeIfc/image.jpg.scaled1000.jpg

joseburgos
08-11-2010, 09:44 PM
May I ask which model 110, 55? Does Skype use the audio from the Firewire as well? I am guessing not as I see you plugged into the line in. That leads me to another question if you are getting the video from the Firewire, is it delayed/out of sync with the audio?

Thanks in advance,

DeanAU
08-15-2010, 10:41 PM
Hey Jose -

It was the 55. Audio came in (mixminus) via the audio in on the mini. No sync issues to report.

GeekNews
08-17-2010, 10:53 PM
My setup is the same. I feed the two composite outs of the two computers to video input 5-6 and then video feed I send back is via video out, through two Canopus ADVC-300 which convert the video to firewire back into the two machines.

I only run two machines.

I run the two audio outs into ebtech hum eliminator then on to a mixer. The Aux sends from the mixer are fed back to the computers.

I also have a Telos Phone hybrid that is patched in as well so people can call in if they want to versus coming in from skype which is a great way to have a backup if the internet gets flakey. I keep profile shots in the tricaster of the guest to bring up in case we have to go to a dial in line.


Hey Zach,

My skype integration is based on Leo Laporte's. I believe it was spec'd and built by Colleen (@digitalkitty). http://leoville.com/the-skypesaurus-story