PDA

View Full Version : Major Batch Captue Issue



Richvideo
08-02-2010, 04:32 PM
Hi
I picked up a Dell Inc. Studio XPS 8000 back in May and I just put my old toaster card in it. Running win7 pro (64bit)

The card seems to be working okay-It is a tight fit but I got it in there.

I am having a major issue getting the batch capture to work. I had a dual Xeon system with a supermicro x5dal-g MOBO for many years and never had a issue with batch caputure using the
The Rosetta Stone adapter on the serial port

It seems that the new computers don't have the serial port anymore so I picked up this adapter
http://www.addenda.com/addenda-elect/products/rsUSB4.php

I installed the win7 driver for it and it seemed to install fine.

My issue is that I can set the batch capture up in VT5 and it sees the deck does a pre roll but it locks up the VT5 shortly after it starts to capture.
I have changed the software and hardware protocol in the advanced settings (no help)
I have tried changing the com ports...no help

Also the VT5 locks up and can not be closed in task manager-needs a reboot

My Sony DSR 1600 does not have the firewire board so I need to capture this way

I really need some help with this

Thanks in advance for any help

Richvideo
08-02-2010, 11:59 PM
I have been dealing with Newtek this evening
They wanted me to update the bios and chipset and change the USB ports
My bios was up to date
The chipset I was not sure about so I updated it-no help
I had the USB device plugged into a hub which was connected to a usb port in the back of the computer
I unplugged it and hooked the adapter device directly to a port in the front of the computer
I then got a new BSOD error when trying to batch capture

080310-19406-01.dmp 8/3/2010 12:56:36 AM DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 0x000000d1 00000000`000000b8 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000000 fffff880`00e3142f Wdf01000.sys Wdf01000.sys+3142f x64 C:\Windows\Minidump\080310-19406-01.dmp 8 15 7600

animlab
08-03-2010, 11:17 AM
Some USB-rs232 converter might not fully compatible to comunication software especiallt the software use direct rs-232 hardware controls.
The best bet is install a rs-232 interface card to your PC.
You maigh try SUNIX 4437A 2 ports rs-232 PCI-E card that fit on most new PC.
Or SUNIX 4037A 2 ports rs-232 PCI card if you still have PCI slot left on your PC.

Richvideo
08-03-2010, 02:07 PM
Some USB-rs232 converter might not fully compatible to comunication software especiallt the software use direct rs-232 hardware controls.
The best bet is install a rs-232 interface card to your PC.
You maigh try SUNIX 4437A 2 ports rs-232 PCI-E card that fit on most new PC.
Or SUNIX 4037A 2 ports rs-232 PCI card if you still have PCI slot left on your PC.
Thanks for your feedback Chen it is a appreciated!
My adapter is a RS 422 to USB not rs-232
I don't really have an open slot on this box
At this point I am going to order another adapter
This company promises that it is win7 ready and it will have no IRQ issues or BSOD crashes
http://www.usconverters.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=75&products_id=280

SBowie
08-03-2010, 02:36 PM
We've seen cases on some of these adapters where Windows assigned it a different port number following a reboot, causing other devices or software pointing at it to fail to locate it. (In such case, you may be able to use the Advanced settings in the Windows Device Mgr. to assign a permanent port.)

Richvideo
08-03-2010, 08:53 PM
We've seen cases on some of these adapters where Windows assigned it a different port number following a reboot, causing other devices or software pointing at it to fail to locate it. (In such case, you may be able to use the Advanced settings in the Windows Device Mgr. to assign a permanent port.)

Hi Steve
It holds its port number unless I unplug the device. If it was not set to the correct com port it would not work at all...I can start a batch..It pre rolls and then it will capture about a minute of footage and then either locks up the batch application (TC stops moving and the progress bar) the deck keeps running. VT5.exe then can not be closed using task manager and a reboot is required
or it goes to a BSOD

I have tried different Com ports
Made sure the Bios is up to date
Reinstalled MOBO chipset
Plugged the adapter into another slot (not into usb hub)
made sure the driver is the correct one (spoke with the company)
Did a chkdsk
Created a new pagefile (in case of corruption)
Ran a com port stress test program (It did not lock up or crash at any point)
Did a scannow (SFC)

I would like to know if anyone is using VT5 with a RS-422 to USB adapter with Win7 and has it working correctly