PDA

View Full Version : 3d coat new auto topology tool



pooby
07-26-2010, 02:33 PM
http://vimeo.com/13651638

This is very very cool indeed.

geo_n
07-26-2010, 02:51 PM
So AbnRanger is beta testing the new magic retopo. Looks good. A little dense but workable backwards to reduce polycount.
So Andrew did the impossible.

cresshead
07-26-2010, 03:08 PM
and this>>

http://vimeo.com/13652970

Cageman
07-26-2010, 03:13 PM
That was... magic?

Really cool stuff!

:)

meatycheesyboy
07-26-2010, 03:19 PM
A little dense but workable backwards to reduce polycount.

Near the end there was a dialog where he typed his desired polycount (7000 in the vid).

archijam
07-26-2010, 03:23 PM
So awesome.

Anyone know if this is planned to be part of v3 ?

(don't want to update both my pc and mac versions again ... anytime soon)

hrgiger
07-26-2010, 03:26 PM
Wow.

Philbert
07-26-2010, 11:01 PM
So AbnRanger is beta testing the new magic retopo. Looks good. A little dense but workable backwards to reduce polycount.
So Andrew did the impossible.

He's not beta testing, that's a video that Andrew posted to Twitter (http://twitter.com/andrewshpagin) and Don just shared it.


So awesome.

Anyone know if this is planned to be part of v3 ?

(don't want to update both my pc and mac versions again ... anytime soon)

Yes this is part of v3. It should be available in a free update shortly after Siggraph. Knowing Andrew he's going to be at the booth with a laptop coding it. lol :D

erikals
07-27-2010, 12:50 AM
Fu**!! http://erikalstad.com/backup/anims.php_files/eek.gif

That Totally Rocks!!

archijam
07-27-2010, 02:23 AM
.. I think this is going to make some very lazy topologizers ;) ..

ie. perfect for me.

Karmacop
07-27-2010, 06:18 AM
With the amount of past research I'm surprised no one has done anything similar yet.
www.graphics.rwth-aachen.de/uploads/media/kobbelt_2008_asia.pdf

Kuzey
07-27-2010, 06:41 AM
So...basically, you draw lines on the areas you want the shape to stay defined as much as possible....very cool stuff.

It could have done with a wireframe view of the original mesh...just to visually see the difference...better.


Kuzey

Philbert
07-27-2010, 07:09 AM
Well holding the W key will show the wireframe. Of course he's using voxel models here and the wireframe of a voxel mesh isn't really anything useful to look at. In the painting room you can just hit the 4 key and wireframe mode will turn on, I'm not sure if it will work the same way for polygonal models in retopo.


Voxel wires:
http://content.screencast.com/users/philnolan3d/folders/Jing/media/36781033-2b7a-4ca5-9e57-cd807aa50b3b/2010-07-27_0907.png

Kuzey
07-27-2010, 07:14 AM
Ah...Thanks Phil :D

I thought it was a normal high density mesh..haha.

Kuzey

Netvudu
07-27-2010, 08:48 AM
*teeth falling from mouth*....

that rocks! :D

Philbert
07-27-2010, 09:53 AM
BTW, not sure if it was clear, if you have a model where the poly flow isn't too important like statue or some other inanimate object you don't really need to draw the guides at all, so in those cases it's even faster. Kind of like an improved version of the Quadrangulation feature already in 3DC.

JBT27
07-27-2010, 11:59 AM
That is insane ..... as in insanely useful - I've been thinking about this kind of thing while using voxels, and here it is. Very, very cool.

Julian.

Philbert
07-28-2010, 09:17 AM
The update with the new feature is available now at:
http://www.3d-coat.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=5789&st=0

You can of course use that as a 30 day trial if you don't currently own 3DC. The symmetry is not perfect but Andrew says he has a much better version bu it's just waiting to upload.

Here's a little demo video I made. I'm sure I can get much better at knowing where and how to place the stroked after I used it a few times.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmU95Ciyw_M

Philbert
07-29-2010, 09:21 AM
As for the broken symmetry, Andrew just posted this to Twitter:


@andrewshpagin (http://twitter.com/andrewshpagin) I made very good symmetry support and possiblity to change local resolution - http://bit.ly/9BSMb1


Now surface freeze is used to mark dense areas

more - http://bit.ly/c2i5hD , http://bit.ly/ahHclF , http://bit.ly/dbWXjt , http://bit.ly/apkYTR

Intuition
07-29-2010, 10:18 AM
Oh YEAAAAAH!

Wow, I already own 3dc just for retopo and will definitely upgrade to this one for sure. Ah, tech innovation makes me even more lazy. ;D

Larry_g1s
07-29-2010, 11:23 AM
This app just keeps getting better and better. And for the price...:eek:!!! They have a deal going on at Siggraph that drops the price down to $200.

Philbert
07-29-2010, 11:41 AM
Very cool I didn't know about the Siggraph price, I just heard there were free T-shirts involved. Even after Siggraph if you buy during your 30 day trial it's only $235.

jrandom
07-29-2010, 11:44 AM
If I hadn't already plunked down the money for ZBrush I would definitely be getting this.

geo_n
07-29-2010, 11:57 AM
This app just keeps getting better and better. And for the price...:eek:!!! They have a deal going on at Siggraph that drops the price down to $200.

Yeah the price I paid for it was 80US back then. Paid for itself many times not just moneywise. Saved me lots of hours fixing messy models from other people.
The good thing is that zbrush keeps innovating as well so all appz don't stay still and prices don't go skyrocketting unlike AD with the market monopoly. I would buy both zbrush and 3dcoat if I were a specialist character designer.

archijam
07-30-2010, 01:55 AM
Now ...

Multiple resolution meshes .. ?

Nice! :D

http://www.3d-coat.com/files/screen/128041547704.jpg

Philbert
07-30-2010, 09:13 AM
Yes it seems now the freeze brush can be used to control the density.

Julez4001
08-01-2010, 09:34 PM
Should rename 3DCoat into Game Changer!

akademus
08-02-2010, 02:44 AM
alright... got it to work somehow, now dum question is... how do you export retopologized model?

Edit: nevermind, i found it :) sorry about that

Philbert
08-02-2010, 08:32 AM
So others know... Retopo menu > Export or merge it to the painting room to continue working Options are also in the Retopo menu.