PDA

View Full Version : Depth min and max.



Andyjaggy
07-14-2010, 01:34 PM
I ahve the need to control the max and min values of my depth buffer.

I am trying to do with the min max buffer in the render global panel. However I can't seem to get anything other then a straight black or straight white matte. The problem might be the values. Are these using the scene units? Meters? Are they pixel brightness values? Are they the amount of times you've sworn at Lightwave during the day?

Andyjaggy
07-15-2010, 10:36 AM
I ended up creating the depth matte using fog instead as I couldn't ever get this to work.

JeffrySG
07-15-2010, 10:40 AM
I usually use the depth buffer in the PSD export as a 16bit file leave the min/max settings as default and then just levels adjust the depth channel in PS afterward.


Are they the amount of times you've sworn at Lightwave during the day?
lol

Andyjaggy
07-15-2010, 01:49 PM
Yeah it was a bad day. :) I decided to use Lightwave on a project at work, which I hadn't done in over a year, and it wasn't going so well. :)

JeffrySG
07-15-2010, 07:11 PM
Yeah it was a bad day. :)

We've all been there!