PDA

View Full Version : Datalink and XML

Keith Gandy
07-05-2010, 07:40 AM
Does anyone have a successful link from a local xml file that accesses an internet mysql database, which then feeds a Datalink/LiveText?

Datalink works great with the text files, but I am yet to successfully find a way to code the xml file required - when it is not localhost. I do have rights to the database - including user and password. A php file exports that needed data to a xml file output. Can anyone help with a way to get a serverside xml set up?

Thanks.

Red_Oddity
07-05-2010, 05:15 PM
I have no experience with the Tricaster what so ever, but you mean to ask if someone has a php script that outputs a XML complient stream from a data base?

This for example returns a xml stream when you enter the adress to this php script.

<?php
header("Content-type: text/xml; charset: utf-8");
$host = "localhost";
$user = "username";
$pass = "password";
$database = "yourdatabase";

$linkID = mysql_connect($host, $user, $pass) or die("Could not connect to host.");
mysql_select_db($database, $linkID) or die("Could not find database.");

$query = "SELECT * FROM xmldb ORDER BY date DESC";
$resultID = mysql_query($query, $linkID) or die("Data not found.");

$xml_output = "<?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"ISO-8859-1\"?>\r\n";
$xml_output .= "<data>\r\n";
for($x = 0 ; $x < mysql_num_rows($resultID) ; $x++){
$row = mysql_fetch_assoc($resultID);
$xml_output .= "\t<item>";
$xml_output .= "\t\t<titel>" . $row['titel'] . "</titel>";
$xml_output .= "\t\t<date>" . $row['date'] . "</date>";
$xml_output .= "\t\t<content><![CDATA[" . $row['content'] . "]]></content>";
$xml_output .= "\t</item>\r\n";
}

$xml_output .= "</data>";
echo $xml_output;
?>

Keith Gandy
07-06-2010, 04:45 AM