PDA

View Full Version : I Have Always Wondered...?



RonB
06-17-2010, 01:29 PM
http://www.dahothouse.com/work/mess.jpg

UnCommonGrafx
06-17-2010, 01:38 PM
ogl errors.

Render it and show that picture; is it right?
Bet it is. Anomalies of which there are fixes, for example in lwcad.

shrox
06-17-2010, 02:03 PM
Select the offending polygon, triple it, then merge polygons, that usually makes it go away..

UnCommonGrafx
06-17-2010, 02:15 PM
Much more reasonable if you don't have lwcad.

Danner
06-17-2010, 02:41 PM
actually I just ran into one of those problems but it didn't show in open gl, or fprime, only at render time! tripled the offending multy faced polygon and all good.

RonB
06-17-2010, 02:48 PM
Thanks so much guys...the tripling worked fine.

You'd think I'd have figured this one out by now after all these years!!?? Learn something new everyday...

Cheers, Ron

Matt
06-17-2010, 04:26 PM
I get these all the time, it's an OpenGL error, they never render for me.

I usually do a knife through the offending area, that solves it too.

Hopper
06-17-2010, 04:49 PM
Wow .. I wish I would have learned the "triple trick" a long time ago. I always just cringe and start adding points and recreating polys until it goes away. Even when I know it's just OGL giving me crap, my OCD kicks in and I just HAVE to make it look right on the screen.

JeffrySG
06-17-2010, 05:13 PM
I think you're more likely to get them on really large concave polygons like those. You can also unusually just connect a few points to split up the concave n-gon to make it less concave.

Matt
06-17-2010, 05:25 PM
Wow .. I wish I would have learned the "triple trick" a long time ago. I always just cringe and start adding points and recreating polys until it goes away. Even when I know it's just OGL giving me crap, my OCD kicks in and I just HAVE to make it look right on the screen.

Me too, but tripling is overkill, just do a cut like Jeff and I do! :)

hrgiger
06-17-2010, 06:14 PM
If you have LWCAD, it's fix polygons tool usually corrects this but I often use knife to segment up the geometry a bit.

Tobian
06-17-2010, 08:05 PM
Using knife is messy, unless you are extremely neat: You'll likely not manage to cut exactly on 2 points, so you're going to add more unconnected points, which is wasteful. Using connect can sometimes result in anomalies, if the polygon is very complex, like that. I normally do the triple merge thing (I have long wanted a plugin which does this globaly! and no, LWcad doesn't fix it in al cases).

colkai
06-18-2010, 02:21 AM
Using knife is messy, unless you are extremely neat: .
Indeed, always been a frustration that knife can't snap to points :(

Matt
06-18-2010, 02:35 AM
Using knife is messy, unless you are extremely neat: You'll likely not manage to cut exactly on 2 points, so you're going to add more unconnected points, which is wasteful. Using connect can sometimes result in anomalies, if the polygon is very complex, like that. I normally do the triple merge thing (I have long wanted a plugin which does this globaly! and no, LWcad doesn't fix it in al cases).

Yes the Connect tool I've used too, forgot about that one!

But ideally, it should just be fixed!

colkai
06-18-2010, 07:06 AM
No doubt CORE will get a fix for this, (well, presumably), but I doubt very much 9.6 will given how long we've lived with it.

Caveboy
06-18-2010, 02:12 PM
It usually has to do with point order. If that poly is one piece, simply use the split tool.

1. Select the poly
2. Select the two verts (this defines the new edge - splitting the single poly into two)
3. Modify\Split (ctrl L)

This now changes the drawing order of the poly and usually fixes the problem. If it doesn't, split it into more pieces. I've done this before. Especially in cases when I build a wall as a single poly and I have windows cut into the mesh.

shrox
06-18-2010, 02:18 PM
It usually has to do with point order. If that poly is one piece, simply use the split tool.

1. Select the poly
2. Select the two verts (this defines the new edge - splitting the single poly into two)
3. Modify\Split (ctrl L)

This now changes the drawing order of the poly and usually fixes the problem. If it doesn't, split it into more pieces. I've done this before. Especially in cases when I build a wall as a single poly and I have windows cut into the mesh.

There are several methods, I would say triple and merge is the fastest and is usually correct. I most often see that problem after a complex boolean or solid drill.

zapper1998
06-18-2010, 03:24 PM
the aliens have landed ................ run and hide.... :)


zzzzzzzzzzzzzzooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

runs and hides ....

zzzzzzzooooooooooommmmmmmmmm

Philbert
06-21-2010, 12:58 PM
I usually just use Add Edges around the offending polygon to go from this:

http://content.screencast.com/users/philnolan3d/folders/Jing/media/ec44a287-3625-4da3-81eb-43fff707fd4a/2010-06-21_1456.png

To this:

http://content.screencast.com/users/philnolan3d/folders/Jing/media/4f95e3a9-dce3-4f5e-a6cd-d8a5614b5a4b/2010-06-21_1458.png

Maybe even going further so it's all quads if need be.

Lamont
06-22-2010, 09:13 PM
Yeah, add edges works fine. And a lot cleaner.