PDA

View Full Version : help for modeling please ! ( urgent )



moussepipi2000
06-17-2010, 08:56 AM
hi all. im actually on a project , i have to model a man, skin and pose him, for the moment thats ok. the second part is more problematic, i have to repeat an hexagone (made for 6 triangles) pattern it have to follow the natural line of the body. the "hexagone line" must be round like a metal tube in the front but the backface have to be a flat black.

maybe im not clear... Just imagine a man made from wire, this wire have to follow the natural line for the body and the wireframe have to take the shape of an hexagone pattern...

the render will be 350 dpi, A4, so the render must be clean enough.

thx you all in advance !

romain

biliousfrog
06-17-2010, 09:05 AM
UV and a hexagon texture

moussepipi2000
06-17-2010, 09:10 AM
actually i thought UV but i cant obtain the WIRE volume only with an map, i have to retopologize all the wire on the Texture map?

maybe someone have a simpler and faster way to do this.?

biliousfrog
06-17-2010, 09:14 AM
How thick does the wire have to be? Could you create multiple versions of the character model, shifted out slightly to give thickness, then add the wire texture as a clip map to cut through all the layers of geometry.

moussepipi2000
06-17-2010, 09:22 AM
the wire have a specific shape, like an hexagone shape, in cut view... but have to be reflective like metal.

biliousfrog
06-17-2010, 09:31 AM
you mean like this? :hey:

moussepipi2000
06-17-2010, 09:35 AM
great, yeah like this !! just one thing important is the shape, in your image its sharp corner, mine is rounded and the back side have to be an other material !

how do get the volume? motion blur trick?

biliousfrog
06-17-2010, 09:35 AM
I took some trousers that I'm currently working on and are UV'd...copied the model, smooth-shifted 1mm and repeated. The final model is 10mm thick (10 layers, 1mm apart). I quickly created a wire image, added it to the model as a transparency map and also as an alpha on the specular and reflective channels.

It fails at the edges but could be cleaned up in photoshop afterwards. It would work better with more layers, closer together. You could also add a slight bevel to the image and use it in the bump channel.

moussepipi2000
06-17-2010, 09:38 AM
i will check it tomorrow if its posssible to get a round aspect to the wire !

thx you bilious

biliousfrog
06-17-2010, 09:39 AM
here's the test scene and object if it helps...it's very quick and dirty :)

moussepipi2000
06-17-2010, 09:40 AM
thx you !