PDA

View Full Version : G3 cellular Router for Streaming Video

digiview
06-13-2010, 09:11 PM
Hello,
I am new to streaming with the TCXD300 and have poor internet speed with hardwired connections. I have recently borrowed a G3 cellular Router to test and it works very well allowing me to be far more mobile and not bound to hard wired slow speed connections. My speed test indicated Upload speed is 689 kbps and download is 2844 kbps.

Can anyone tell me if my above speeds are good enough to stream HD and is there any known problems using the cellular routers.

Many thanks.

Cabe
06-13-2010, 11:04 PM
Depends on how many second per frame you want, sadly no is the short answer.

My PAL SD F4V broadcasts are at 1000kbps, and Youtube's "HD" videos are encoded in H.264/Mpeg4 at 720 and 1080 with bit-rates of 2000 and 3500kpbs respectively.

Also cellular back haul links are way more contended then hard wired connections. You get a couple of iPhone users on it and be prepared to re-experience dialup.

bbeanan
06-14-2010, 12:17 AM
not even close for HD streaming... not to mention you can not count on 3G as your burst spped may be great but try and stream for more than a minute and most of the time it will not work. with that upload speed the most i would do would be a 25% SD stream no more than 300 kbps.

My normal way of looking at it is take at least 3 different speed tests then take the lowest speed divide that in half and use that as your max stream speed.

digiview
06-14-2010, 02:28 AM
Hey guys thanks for sharing your knowledge I really appreciate your help. To get started what upload speed should I be looking for to sustain Flash 25 fps 640*480 512k HD or SD to stream.

Thanks in advance

joseburgos
06-14-2010, 07:05 AM
Hey guys thanks for sharing your knowledge I really appreciate your help. To get started what upload speed should I be looking for to sustain Flash 25 fps 640*480 512k HD or SD to stream.

Thanks in advance