PDA

View Full Version : Predict rendering times

Orange
09-13-2003, 05:00 AM
Hi all,
Is it posssible to predict LW rendering times? Thanks in advance. Cheers.

Beamtracer
09-13-2003, 08:15 AM
I always do it with the Calculator program that comes with OS X. You can get a reasonably accurate prediction of an animation's render time this way.

Orange
09-13-2003, 09:12 AM
Thanks Beamtrace,
Could you explain it with more detail, i'm quite new with LW : (
My work is mostly about still images, and i would like to render a small test, and from that calculate the rendering time, also adding a certain level of AA. Could be some kind of chart, don't know.
thanks again. You are always very helpfull.

ingo
09-13-2003, 09:53 AM
If you render your test without AA you can simply multiply the same rendertime by the amount of AA you choose, so enhanced medium AA takes nine times longer; but if you use motion blur it takes a bit more time.

HTH

ingo

Orange
09-13-2003, 10:42 AM
Thanks Ingo. BTW love your work : )

Is there some kind of chart? In certain cases as working in tight deadline, could be very handy to choose different AA.

Look at this example: If a 500X400 pixel test render took 2 minutes, the same with 2000X1600 will took... With Enhanced Medium AA will took 9 times longer, right?

Thanks a lot.

Beamtracer
09-13-2003, 04:15 PM
I just set my animation rendering, and watch how many seconds it takes to make the first frame.

Then I multiply that number by the number of frames in the animation. This will tell you how many seconds your animation will take to render.

If you divide that number by 60 you then know how many minutes it'll take.

If you divide by 60 again you will know how many hours it'll take. Note that '6.75' hours will equate to 6 hours and 45 minutes.

drclare
09-13-2003, 06:08 PM