PDA

View Full Version : HD Instance animation offset



erikals
05-18-2010, 06:27 AM
this is something i've been wondering for a long time,

now, HD Instance has the ability to make random animation offset,

but is it possible to control the offset with for example an animated texture?

Hieron
05-18-2010, 06:40 AM
If you could, it would allow waving field of grass (among other things). While at it, I'd be happy if a (UV) texture would drive all the other parameters as well instead of only a weight map.

That sort of stuff + some tweaks would make it 3.0 for me.

geo_n
05-18-2010, 06:42 AM
There's a scene for kray that does waving of plants with kray instancing. :)
Not animation offset but its driven by a texture.

fyffe
05-19-2010, 04:20 PM
I agree that sounds pretty cool. I'll add it to the feature requests, though there is no solid roadmap for a major upgrade at the moment.

erikals
05-19-2010, 05:11 PM
i hope, i hope... http://erikalstad.com/backup/anims.php_files/oye.gif

Mr Rid
05-19-2010, 05:24 PM
This is what I want to be able to do with instancing-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wKgSKqv9AEU&feature=PlayList&p=571F63D412034686&playnext_from=PL&index=3

erikals
05-19-2010, 05:28 PM
...laughed pretty good at that one http://erikalstad.com/backup/anims.php_files/023.gif

erikals
05-19-2010, 05:32 PM
for that to work HDi would have to be able to read node info.
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=743966&postcount=88

geo_n
05-20-2010, 01:19 AM
Haha attack of the killer teapot. That is way cool. We havent done anything complex with 3dmax crowd sim but its good to know thats possible and already in 3dmax. Wonder if they scripted the distance to trigger the firing of the soldiers in motionflow.
The last time we used crowd sim in max it was dog slow to sim 30 people avoiding each other and objects. But it worked.:D

erikals
05-20-2010, 05:54 AM
we can easily do this in LW,...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cjspZxnuAOY