PDA

View Full Version : Adding detail to models

Mr-Wizard
02-27-2003, 12:16 PM
Hey,

I currently modelling a Audi TT using Sub Patch surfaces, however, I'm having problems adding details such as body work joints and curved indentations. Whats the best way to add detail to a model like this? I've considered freezing the model and then stenciling details on to the model. I've tried modelling details onto the model but this has resulted in too many polys and a loss of the nice curves.

I'm fairly new to Lightwave (as you've probably guessed) and not got any good modelling skills yet - would really appreciate the help.

Cheers

brtk
02-27-2003, 06:30 PM
Well I dont know yet... I just started to build a subpatch car today, Ive been doing poly stuff only for a year or two. BUT for the joints Id try a couple of DAZ plugs: Edge Bevel and Point Normal Move combined with LWs Bandsaw... I just used this method on poly models dut it should work on sds too...

First u select edge points and run Edge Bevel with little offset, RMB to confirm and deselect all points - youll get nice row of quads, second run Bandsaw on thoise quads with two keys something like 0.01 and 0.99 - keep the points selected, third and last use point normal move to move in selected points...Thats it. Well, youll probably get some 5 point polys at the ends that youll need to clean out manually... Heres a link to DAZ site and a little 5 min test pic:

http://www.daz3d.com/pages/dp/development/developright.html

mattclary
02-28-2003, 05:50 AM
I have barely touched sub-d modeling, but I think this can be accomplished (in part) by using weight maps to increase tension on edges. The best way to demonstrate this is to turn a cube into a sub-d surface and apply a weight map to an edge. You can sharpen and dull that edge by adjusting the weight map. Hope this helps...

brtk
02-28-2003, 07:16 AM